• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

493 Stroker Cam and Intake Selection

nstyle73

Local time
3:10 AM
Reaction score
I am not a complete newbie to the hobby, but this is the first engine build project in my repertoire. I have a 493 short block. I would like to go to studs on the bottom end and will have to have it align honed and machined for retrofit roller lifters. I am trying to decide on a cam and will be calling a couple of cam makers for some advice, but real world users have valuable information to share. The car is a 73 Charger, pushing 4K lbs with driver, currently 3.55 gears, 4 speed, strictly street driving. I kid myself when I think that it might go to the track. 2" headers, Trickflow 240 heads, 1.5 and 1.6 roller rockers are already in the garage as is an Edelbrock RPM intake. I fear the intake to be too large a restriction for these heads and can't bring myself to pay to port it when I could go to a single planefor the same money. I am looking at cams in the 235-245* @.050", 110LSA. My main concern is I would like to keep the power coming in around that 2000-2500 range, but know I am giving some up on the top end with these heads and a small cam, but have never driven a stroker so I don't know how founded this concern is with the extra cubes down low.

Last edited:
Nice setup so far. I have seen a comp cam Xtreme Energy™ Hi-Lift XE285HL; on the dyno in a 440 mind you and did it ever put up some impressive numbers. In a 440 with TFS it was just a bit too much for a street car with 355 especially with power brakes. But put that into a 493 and I think it will be just right. You can also call Bullet cams they are really good and get their opinion as well. Good luck and let us know how things go