• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Brake Bleeding Issues

dak440

Local time
4:05 AM
Reaction score
Looking for help on brake bleeding a completely new , dry system. New booster, master cylinder, lines, calipers, proportioning valve/metering block from In- Line Tube. First, I'm not a novice, and have done every conventional approach that have worked for years. Bench bled master cylinder, manually bled, mtyvac bled at wheel cal/calipers, replaced reman master cal twice, replaced proportioning valve / metering block with the original, checked all fittings etc. Getting fluid to back at wheel cylinders, but cannot stop getting air . Sealed bleeders with teflon tape , etc, etc. Bled a dozen times... still getting air, but no sign of fluid leak anywhere where air could be getting in. About ready to pull wheels and replace wheel cylinders...had put in remans. Anyone else solve this dilemma before?? Thanks.

I'd get rid of the teflon tape. The line is sealed by the tension on the flared end, not by around the threads.

Bleed RR, LR, RF, LF in that order.

I've heard of some caliper kits that have the bleeder at or near the bottom of the piston and air is impossible to get out. The calipers are mounted upside down.

I like to bleed into a sealed bottle. Doing it by myself I have a hose from the bleeder into the bottle and the hose is submerged in fluid. When you let off the brake it won't draw air back in. I don't have much faith in the vacuum bleeders.

20170901_195022.jpg

20170901_194210.jpg

Last edited: