• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Building a RV 440

rebootej

Local time
12:43 AM
Reaction score
Im playing with the idea of putting a 440 in my Satellite. The 318 currently in it is having some issues and making scary noises. I know what i need to do to do the swap, I've read the sticky but what do you guys recommend for building the actually motor? I have a 440 and trans out of of motorhome already. The price was too good to pass up the trans had the short tailshaft, but ideally id like to adapt my A518 to to the 440 with and ultrabell so I can keep the OD, its so nice on the freeway.
Im brand new to big blocks. I would like to build a solid running healthy sounding 440.
What kind of compression do these engines have? How much do i need to bring it up? Or do I?
Best way to accomplish this?
What headers fit best on a 74 B-body?
Im planning on keeping the cast crank, not trying to get super crazy with the build attempting to do it on a budget. Need to figure out what heads the engine has. Are most heads worth it after doing machine work?
Basically I'm looking for any advice you guys have. Ive always wanted a big block, and I've got this one just sitting in the garage. So why not put it to work??

Have you considered a cast crank stroker 360? With a good set of heads you could have big block power with much less trouble/expense.
Mike

That's one way to do it
What year motorhome- they usually have premium motorhome valves which are almost bullet proof
unfortunately the heads are the open chamber bathtub style you may have less than 8:1 actual compression
and the pistons are way down the bore
resulting in a motor that makes more heat than horsepower