• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Electronic ignition suggestions for 440 6 pack

Jason69 RR

Local time
10:33 PM
Reaction score
Evening guys,

I am looking for suggestions for a "bullet proof" electronic ignition setup for the 440 6pk in my 69 RR. Right now the motor is stock other than headers. Eventually I would like to have some motor work done... (aluminum heads...cam....etc. etc.).

I changed the points out last summer to a pertronix conversion kit, and added a Flame Thrower II coil. This spring I am doing an under dash and engine compartment wiring harness as some of the wiring was "old and tired". I am a newbie, but love to tinker. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!!! Mopar or No car.:headbang:

Thanks troops!

Cheers

Jason

MSD price, ease and quality hard to beat.
other great brands out there but i only have experience with MSD

MSD 6al ignition box
MSD blaster 2 coil
MSD HEI distributor w/vac can
MSD 8.5 leads

yup...it is...may be a GM thing, but it's more common to find a GM module on any parts store than MSD parts if you need something right away...GM used this for years..it's a good system, I'm just cleaning up all the other parts and connections that can cause trouble down the road

I went with a Firecore distributor along with the standard orange box and MP electronic pigtail on my latest project.

I run the Pertronix II with my 440 6-pack set up and it seems to work fine.

I don't have a 6 bbl but I use the MSD 6AL works fine plug and play 3 years in now just fine.

MSD 6al2 programmable, blaster 2 could and pro billet distributor working very well for me.

msd price, ease and quality hard to beat.
Other great brands out there but i only have experience with msd

msd 6al ignition box
msd blaster 2 coil
msd hei distributor w/vac can
msd 8.5 leads
-
-x2