• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Fuel pump problems

Gpuller

Local time
9:09 PM
Reaction score
Have been working on the interior of my car this winter. I got the instrument cluster repaired also. Finally got to the point where I could fire up the car and watch the newly repaired tach in action.
Car would't run unless the carb was full of fuel. After some trouble shooting narrowed it down to the pump. Its a mechanical Carter rebuild able one.
I pulled it a part and sure enough the diaphram is cracked.

IMG_4049_zps9ca2ff78.jpg

IMG_4048_zpsccbcf396.jpg

Also found some receipts for parts that have been put into the car over the years.

invoice_zps0cba3301.jpg

Bought the pump from Summit on 6/7/89! The summer I graduated from high school. This thing has only pumped ethanol fuel for 24 years. Yeah ethanol is hard on parts...my a#%.
Mancini has new pump for around $109 and rebuild kits for them for around $55. Ordering a kit tomorrow.
Think the rebuild kit will last another 24?

24 yrs. ago on Summit receipt... Only live about 15 miles from their new place & it seems to have been there forever.

Wow! More importantly, look a that receipt!!! I know kids older then that receipt! Anyway. I would upgrade and just for the fun of it.. I would look at that fuel pump pushrod and make sure it hasn't mushroomed in there.

Mike

Got a rebuilt kit from Mancini yesterday. None of the holes in the new diaphragm line up with the pump cover and body. Then the metal backing plate for the diaphragm is too big and wont fit into the lower half of the pump body. Not impressed.

I would just send the parts back and replace the entire pump.you definitely got 39 bucks worth out of that one. that is almost the cost of a stock replacement these days