• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Help Carb Removal for Cleaning

68Zero

Local time
1:35 PM
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Like the title says, need some help with removing my carb for cleaning. I am a complete newbie with it, but have a 750 Demon, need some guidance on taking it off to get it cleaned up and try to clean out some of the gunk in there. Before getting the car from my dad, it sat unstated for a bit. Attached some pictures to help, thanks!

IMG_3106.jpeg

IMG_3107.jpeg

IMG_3109.jpeg

With no choke plate and a cold engine that would be normal.
How does it act when warmed up ?

There is no choke in your carb, and you live in NY state, so it is not going to like cold starts. Once started, let the engine warm up a little bit before giving the gas pedal a stab.

Welcome. We're all glad to be of help. If you're not sure of remove/reinstall carb procedures, not sure if you'd be up to do a rebuild. But, first things first. Do you have FRESH fuel in the system ( tank to carb ) ?

There is no choke in your carb, and you live in NY state, so it is not going to like cold starts. Once started, let the engine warm up a little bit before giving the gas pedal a stab.
So on the cold start I'll get the pop, it has gotten better over time, when I first got it running was popping more on the cold start.

For hitting the gas a lot, I wait till I'm on the road and engine is warmed up and get the pop and power loss.

I've cycled in about 1.5 - 2 full tanks of gas (93 octane).

I was going to hold off on rebuild, but take it off, get some carb cleaner in the main section and remount to see if that helps.

Does that carb have a power valve like a Holley? Usually, one good backfire, and the power valve was done.