• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Need advice on choosing a mig welder

Scoots45

Local time
8:30 PM
Reaction score
Trying to decide what mig welder to purchase for my 70 Roadrunner project. Looks like I'll be doing mostly sheet metal work. However I do need to replace part of my rear frame rails due to rust. Right now I'm leaning towards the Hobart 140 since I don't have 240 out in the garage. Any advice is appreciated.

I can't vouch for any particular brand names as I have only ever owned one welder. It is a Miller 135 and is 110 volt. But in my opinion you don't need anything bigger for the work required on these machines.

110 is plenty I use a little Lincoln weld pac 140 it does frame and sheet metal just fine . I've been using it for 8 years straight probably 5-6 projects no problems I had to replace the stinger last year when I cut it on accident but that's about it never let me down Hobart and Miller are great units too.

Hobart or Miller. Make sure your 110v circuit is a 20 amp. Use a heavy duty extension cord if the factory cord isn't long enough. You get what you pay for if you go cheap.

Also go with gas not Flux core :D

i use a Hobart Handler (120 volt power) that I got at Tractor Supply. perfect for body work and even heavier work. use .023 wire with shielding gas. I have a millermatic 250 but cannot turn it down enough for the bodywork. You will discover that all the smaller welders are made by Century Electric anyway. Miller and others only make their 200 amp and up welders. I have had the little Hobart for maybe 20 years, no trouble. do not even consider flux coated wire welding.
just my 2 cents.
PT in Tennessee