• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Roadtrip 68 satelite

Roadfury87

Local time
4:49 PM
Reaction score
So I'm toying with the idea right now of roadtrip from Fairbanks Alaska to the east coast in my 68 Plymouth satellite. I bought it a few years ago it's mildly built for racing. And I'm no mechanic but. I'm trying to figure out what I might need to do to make it obviously more efficient . At low cost . It has a 383 and a ten gallon fuel cell obviously that needs to be swapped out with a larger tank.

Are you going to take the Ferry to Seattle or do the ALCAN highway?

A good all season tires with a good spare
Good HD shocks
All mechanical gone through
A tote full of extra parts such as a distributor, alternator etc.
Antifreeze
Tools. I find a tool bag works better than a tool box
Small lightweight jack
Battery powered impact gun
Cell phone with charger
AA membership

I'm sure others will add to the list

More than likely would take the ferry. Thanks for the reply

A 3.23 rear end will go a long way towards efficiency in a transcon road trip. I get about 16.6 on the highway with it and a slightly leaned out Edelbrock 750 (1411).

A 3.23 rear end will go a long way towards efficiency in a transcon road trip. I get about 16.6 on the highway with it and a slightly leaned out Edelbrock 750 (1411).

or a 2.76 rear end (assuming 8-3/4" rear end).... non-posi I think is better for mountain driving. Maybe a 2 bbl. carb/intake? Tall rear tires? Spread-bore 4 bbl. intake/carb?

Spare belts, a spare ignition box, extra water (or antifreeze) and jumper cables or a portable jump starter pack and maybe even radiator hoses.

Do you know for sure that your cam isn't still running the stock nylon driven gear(sprocket)? I would make sure it has been replaced before any long trek.

Last edited: