• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Slapstick Transmission on Dodge Charger

Acworld34

Local time
4:05 PM
Reaction score
Slapstick Transmission on Dodge Charger or other B-Body

I was reviewing this video with Mike Musto's Dodge Daytona and Dodge Charger. Please see 12:42 of the video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WUaN21qZZSw

Where he reveals that there is a slapstick transmission with overdrive in the Charger. I really didn't understand what he was talking about having basically 6 gears.

So I am wondering a few things and some of these questions might sound stupid but I am a newbie so give me a break.

1. Is the slapstick just the shifter in this case not other modifications? I imagine that the tranny in the video has an overdrive gear already and this is a specialized transmission set up for this car and not stock. So it would be a transmission with three gears with overdrive.

2. could you put a slapstick on a regular automatic like our stock auto 727? I wanted to change my auto column to a floor shift and I was wondering the options.

3. Please state your opinion on how do these compare to 4 speed transmissions and your driving impressions if you have ever driven one. Does it kill the transmissions or more wear and tear. I know on modern cars they have basically slapstick until your computer changes the gear for you.

Any insight would help.

Thanks

Last edited:
Looks like to me this is just an add-on overdrive unit, that splits all three gears on a 3 speed trans, where you would have 1st, 1st overdrive, 2nd, second overdrive, and 3rd and 3rd overdrive. A stock 3 speed 727 came with a slapstick shifter, doesn't look like that one in the video at all.