• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Something so simple as a thermostat gasket

Fel-Pro is what I use, no sealant.

fel-35063_w (3).jpg

Good luck. Very important to get this right. I use a Stant Superstat 180, but do use a Manicini Billet housing. Not cheap, but has never let me down.

I have a stock housing, stant 180 and use a stant gasket with sticky tape on one side to hold the t stat in the housing while installing. No rtv or sealant. No issues no leaks. Lol at $10 for a gasket. I buy mine by the handful from Rockauto for 24 cents a piece.

I have found the gaskets with the sticky tape side to leak in about a years time. It is the sticky tape side that loses the seal. I try to make sure and get the Felpro gasket if available. I am a mechanic with many customers, whose cars I will see for years, and I learned a lesson using those sticky side gaskets.

One other thing... make sure you chase the threads if using stock bolts and stock housing. I chased a leak and it turned out the stock fastners were bottoming out. Basically they were tight but were not clamping. Chased the threads and put it back together and no problem. Only resealed it like 3 or 4 times before that. With factory parts the bolts are just about too long. When I measured everything the first time I thought I had the wrong bolts. After cleaning the threads out I had a couple thousands.