• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Spindle Question

67 GTX

Local time
1:39 PM
Reaction score
Hey guys,

On a 67 front drum brake spindle, is each spindle specific to driver's and passenger's sides? Or do both spindles interchange from driver's to passenger's side?

This is on a 67 gtx.

Thanks!

I'm no expert, but I think spindles are right/left specific because the "main body" of the spindle (not the "spindle" itself... hard to explain) has an arm sticking back for the tie rod end to connect to.... at least that's the case on '70 spindles.

The lower ball joint/tie rod arm bolt onto the spindle, as well as the backing plate. I do not think there is a problem with switching them if needed. According to the 67 Parts manual, they are the same part. B Body without disc brake column.

67 Parts.jpg

I found the same thing from the parts manual as well. But when I was re-installing my front end, the lower ball joint nut kept making contact with the spindle. I appears that there might be a slight difference between the spindles. When looking at the back of them, there appears to be a very slight relief dish on the curve part that curves up to the top to connect to the upper balljoint.

I'm now in the process of trying to disassemble and swap spindles.

I can now confirm that while they are the same part number, they are side dependent. There is a slight relief cast into them, which allows for clearance of the lower ball joints nut/stud. Flipping them created contact and a lot of resistance when trying to turn the spindle.
Best thing I can offer is that if it is set up right, when you do your front end rebuild, mark the spindles. I did this for every single part, except them :(