1963 PLYMOUTH 4 SPEED DASH PICTURE

MIKESPOLARA

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:12 AM
Joined
Jun 16, 2021
Messages
836
Reaction score
921
Location
CALIF
My 63 is a push button auto. Just curious what the dash looks like for 4 speed cars. Obviously the buttons have to disappear, whole new dash or just cover for the holes?? Picture if you have one please.
 

topside

Well-Known Member
Local time
11:12 AM
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
169
Reaction score
143
Location
Sandpoint, ID
My old '63 Savoy wagon Maxie clone I built - same cluster face as 3-speed column-shift cars, which mine was before the RB/4-speed swap.
Absolutely blank at the pushbutton area. Also had a plastic cover where the Park lever would go on an AT car, to the left of the cluster.

Cluster.jpg
 

MIKESPOLARA

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:12 AM
Joined
Jun 16, 2021
Messages
836
Reaction score
921
Location
CALIF
Thank you. Nice and clean.
My dream would be to convert my car to a 5/6 speed TKx type trans. A new dash as such would be the perfect finishing touch.
 

Ron H

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
11:12 AM
Joined
Feb 29, 2016
Messages
7,183
Reaction score
7,986
Location
WI
Button deleted bezels are a rare find; I have three of the bezels; but with the buttons. Installed a '62 bezel in my '63 liking that dash more than the 'ranch' cluster. Yeah, to each their own.
 

khryslerkid

Well-Known Member
Local time
12:12 PM
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
26,384
Reaction score
42,509
Location
Hanover, Pennslyvania
You'll need one like topside's. Three speed standard transmission. Three on the column, maybe three on the floor was available. No four speeds until 1964.
 

MIKESPOLARA

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:12 AM
Joined
Jun 16, 2021
Messages
836
Reaction score
921
Location
CALIF
You'll need one like topside's. Three speed standard transmission. Three on the column, maybe three on the floor was available. No four speeds until 1964.
Just out of curiosity again, how about sport fury with console auto shifter? Did they make such a thing in 63?
 

MIKESPOLARA

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:12 AM
Joined
Jun 16, 2021
Messages
836
Reaction score
921
Location
CALIF
I have seen the 64 with console shifters but didn't know if 63 had it. So the only 63 without the pushbuttons are the 3 speed cars
 

VANDAN

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
12:12 PM
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
3,526
Reaction score
6,388
Location
Western NY
Thank you. Nice and clean.
My dream would be to convert my car to a 5/6 speed TKx type trans. A new dash as such would be the perfect finishing touch.
Mike, not to be a Dream Killer, but I spoke with the Tremec Team at the Autorama in Detroit, earlier this year, seeking info on a similar set up for my '65. They do not currently offer a 5/6 "TKx" for any mid '60s Mopars, and said "No real future plans" to offer them. They said it may be possible to use a later model year, but would take extensive floor tunnel work, to make it fit properly. Maybe someone can Add some info on this topic that has attempted, and succeeded the process ?
 

Darter6

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
11:12 AM
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
6,121
Reaction score
7,181
Location
Nevada
I put a TKO 5 speed in a 65 Belvedere. Had to shave a few lugs off the trans case to clear the floor.
Other than that it fit fine. Not sure of a TKX.
 

bama69

Member
Local time
11:12 AM
Joined
Jul 14, 2013
Messages
21
Reaction score
14
Location
Huntsville, Al
You'll need one like topside's. Three speed standard transmission. Three on the column, maybe three on the floor was available. No four speeds until 1964.
I have a question about the no 4 speed comment. I have a 63 Belvedere that codes out to 361, 4 speed on the fender tag
 

33 IMP

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:12 AM
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
7,918
Reaction score
11,200
Location
taxifornia,soon 2b Arizona.
Four speed was available in 63, a weakass BW t-10. Mopar figured out it was too weak for a big block mopar, and brought out the CHRYSLER four speed 833 in 64.
(Actually, a four speed was available even earlier (1960?) in a Chrysler 300, a french pont a mouson (spelling?). Translated it means "utter garbage")
 

bama69

Member
Local time
11:12 AM
Joined
Jul 14, 2013
Messages
21
Reaction score
14
Location
Huntsville, Al
Four speed was available in 63, a weakass BW t-10. Mopar figured out it was too weak for a big block mopar, and brought out the CHRYSLER four speed 833 in 64.
(Actually, a four speed was available even earlier (1960?) in a Chrysler 300, a french pont a mouson (spelling?). Translated it means "utter garbage

Four speed was available in 63, a weakass BW t-10. Mopar figured out it was too weak for a big block mopar, and brought out the CHRYSLER four speed 833 in 64.
(Actually, a four speed was available even earlier (1960?) in a Chrysler 300, a french pont a mouson (spelling?). Translated it means "utter garbage")
Thanks
 

MCODECUDA

Well-Known Member
Local time
11:12 AM
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
639
Reaction score
417
Location
Sherrills Ford, NC
You'll need one like topside's. Three speed standard transmission. Three on the column, maybe three on the floor was available. No four speeds until 1964.
Not true. In 62 and 63 youcould get a 4-speed transmission but it was a T-10 transmission manufactured by Borg-Warner and not New Process Gear (Mopar).

Edited, by the time that I posted this I see that this was addressed minutes before I poste.
 

33 IMP

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:12 AM
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
7,918
Reaction score
11,200
Location
taxifornia,soon 2b Arizona.
@bama69, no offense meant to your 63, I probably shouldn't have phrased my answer that way, but....
Even Ford was replacing t-10s in 63 with toploaders, because the t-10 was too weak for 260/289s in full size fords.
 

bama69

Member
Local time
11:12 AM
Joined
Jul 14, 2013
Messages
21
Reaction score
14
Location
Huntsville, Al
@bama69, no offense meant to your 63, I probably shouldn't have phrased my answer that way, but....
Even Ford was replacing t-10s in 63 with toploaders, because the t-10 was too weak for 260/289s in full size fords.
None taken. I have heard all the bad things. My original trans is long gone anyway
 

MIKESPOLARA

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:12 AM
Joined
Jun 16, 2021
Messages
836
Reaction score
921
Location
CALIF
Mike, not to be a Dream Killer, but I spoke with the Tremec Team at the Autorama in Detroit, earlier this year, seeking info on a similar set up for my '65. They do not currently offer a 5/6 "TKx" for any mid '60s Mopars, and said "No real future plans" to offer them. They said it may be possible to use a later model year, but would take extensive floor tunnel work, to make it fit properly. Maybe someone can Add some info on this topic that has attempted, and succeeded the process ?


TKO, TKX is there a difference? I don't follow along with the latest and greatest stuff. Just a 5 speed what ever it's called. Seems like a saw a complete kit with everything needed from a trans vendor, not concerned with the alphabets plus it's a very seldom used street car. But most importantly I probably WON'T have the money to do the swap anyway.
 

MIKESPOLARA

Well-Known Member
Local time
9:12 AM
Joined
Jun 16, 2021
Messages
836
Reaction score
921
Location
CALIF
I remember reading that Chrysler had to use BW T10's until the 833 was completed and ready for service.
 

Top