• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1965 Dodge Coronet 440 4dr: Brake Light Issues

Hammer108

Local time
6:13 AM
Reaction score
I am new to the Dodge family. I recently bought a 1965 Dodge Coronet 440 4dr. I love the car but realized that the rear brake lights do not work. The things I have chased to fix this issue. (maybe someone can help shed light on what would fix the issue)
1) Brake switch works, ran a test on it
2) one post of the brake switch has one wire the other post has two wires going to it.
3) one of these wires going to the brake switch has power (confirmed with test light), the other did not activate however I am not sure which one lit up the test light.
4) park lights work and the right rear/front blinker works.
5) left rear/front blinker does not work, I have not changed the bulb or tested any wires outside the cabin of the car.
6) the fuse block, all fuses are good to go, none blown. But the clamps on the fuses seem corroded. But the radio works fine, which is one of the fuses. So I don't think it's the fuse block.
7) wires from base of steering column have had the plastic factory connector cut off, all the wires out of the column are now butt connected together. The connectors all look great and are tights.
8) I also pulled the steering wheel. The previous owner installed a new blinker switch inside. From the inside of the horn area, all the wires look good and work as they should.
9) Blinker lights on dash also work and the blinkers turn off when cycling a right and left turn while driving the vehicle.
I am looking for any help with this issue. Not sure where to go from here. I will change out the bulbs to check for blown left blinker. But I would think if the blinker works, the brake should work, seeing that the brake switch works.