• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1966 Dodge Coronet 500

SIX TO GO

Local time
4:58 AM
Reaction score
Hey there fellow Mopar aficionados. I’m not really new to the club as a professional lurker for a couple of years looking to buy a car that my taste buds and checkbook can agree upon but, I am a novice at posting.

I’ve had (past tense) a few cars over the years: 4 A bodies, 1 B body and 1 E body but a week ago today I bought my second B body. A 1966 Dodge Coronet 500. I picked it up at Mecum Auto Auctions in Kissimmee, Florida and drove it home.

C0C9305C-4ABE-47B6-B3CB-096229D75958.jpeg

To see the car in greater detail you can see lots of pictures and a video of it here. 1966 Dodge Coronet 500. It’s nice and the guy clearly stuck a lot of money into restoring it but it’s got things wrong with it that will keep me and some local shops busy getting everything we can as close to perfect as I’m willing and able to spend on it.
Any way, thought I’d speak up and say hello.
If there’s anyone here who’s really knowledgeable on how to make this car more accurate to the way it would have rolled off the assembly line in 1966, I’d like to connect with you.
I’m not interested in making the car 100% accurate but…if I am going to need to address an issue then I’m more interested in putting it back towards original than I am using whatever is available off the shelf.
At a glance I can tell the ignition system, carburetor, windshield washer motor and repaint of the front grill are incorrect and would like to put those back to being accurate. I’m sure there’s eagle eyes in here that can spot more from a mile away.

Thanks all!

D8E1F439-106A-41ED-B100-C3236E2BFA4C.jpeg

966A16DA-E0CE-4D6D-9BE7-15ABCBC91D10.jpeg

AE1B3DF0-A282-4F07-B479-90401ABB1A0C.jpeg