• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1968 Coronet 440 - what is it worth?

andrewwoz

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
10:04 PM
Reaction score
Looking at a 68 Coronet 440 coupe, originally a 318 car now has a 440 (auto trans). Car has been repainted, going to estimate paint is 7/10 from photos I have. Has headers, exhaust, edlebrock carb. The owner says the motor ran when it was first put in but it has been at 2 different shops getting "finished" for the past 10 years. Owner was recently told the motor is now making noise and they believe it is due to the fuel pump leaking into crankcase. I do not really have more details than that, sounds like it could needs a bottom end? I'm brand new to mopars and classic cars in general but have a good deal of time working on vintage harley's.

Just want some opinions on value. Buyer is asking $25k which is what he has into it. I feel for him after hearing the horror stories from the 2 shops but I'm hesitant to spend that with the unknown problems.

Thanks!

Without pics and a link to the car it's impossible to help.
If the paint only looks 7/10 in photos then it could be quite poor as photos tend to hide a lot of flaws.

You can only go into it thinking it will need a complete rebuild.
And hoping it won't.

It's a non original car with a bad engine. If the body work and paint are good, I will guess without pictures, 15-18. You can count on at least 5K for a proper rebuild of the engine. It is sort of bad to make a guess without pictures.
:xscuseless: