• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

4 Speed Transmission Damage from Fall

HawkRod

Formerly hsorman
Staff member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:27 PM
Reaction score
So I have some transmission woes from my 1970 Road Runner with 383 & 4 Speed.

I made my own K-Member cradle and when I had the engine and trans attached and was moving it around, the jack fell from the transmission and the tail shaft of the transmission fell and took a hit with all the weight of the entire assembly. If you care to read about that, see this thread:
http://www.forbbodiesonly.com/mopar...Rod-The-Restoration&p=910123361#post910123361

I am not experienced with 4 speed transmissions. This trans worked perfectly before, and I will most likely be replacing it soon. However, I need to use it for a while before it gets replaced. Just now, I put it in each gear, and it seemed to do that smoothly, but I realize that is probably a very limited test.

Questions:
1) Anyone have a replacement part (Pinion Bearing Retainer?) they can sell me?

2) Any suggestions for how to check for a bent shaft. See the third picture. I tried to put a dial indicator on it but there is a lot of slop in it with the busted retainer. Is this the right way to check it?

As always, I greatly appreciate the help and expertise from you all! :headbang:

When I pulled the trans off the bell housing, this is what I found:
View attachment 205183

A view from the other side:
IMG_2851.jpg

Here is how I set up the dial indicator. However, I couldn't get a good reading. I think there is too much play in it with the retainer broken...
IMG_2854.jpg