• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

440 Timing

junkpile

Local time
2:31 PM
Reaction score
440 .030 over 484/284 cam, 2800 stall. had timing set at 15 BTDC without vacuum hooked up. Car ran great around town, no bogs, easy starts. Accelerating from cruise or at highway speed acceleration, pinging and ratteling. I Have adjusted the base timing to 12 BTDC w/o vacuum, but did not get a chance to run it as weather has come in. I followed a timing guide but the numbers did not make sense for total advance. I am trying to learn this stuff so I can do it all myself and not rely on others so much. I will give the numbers I got last night if someone can help me figure them out. Funny I have an engineering degree and still cant get the math :)

base timing w/o vacuum 12 degrees
base timing w vacuum 32 degrees
@3000 RPM with vacuum 48
@3000 PRM without 28/29

i have 8" vacuum at idle (12 degrees) did not get other vacuum reading. I was doing this myself so I was using a piece of old base molding to push the throttle open and check the timing so accurate RPM is 2800-3000

I have seen sources that say check at 3000, some at 2500 dont know which is the correct way.

Also what way do you turn the hex nut in the vacuum can to reduce the vacuum advance.

thanks in advance for the help.

oh forgot......I want to get the total advance between 34-36.

I may have to just bit the bullitt and get a new cam an lifters. Any suggestions for a power brake, street performer would be great. (dont want to crack into it but i may have to so I can get rid of the issues)