• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

5.7 Hemi oil recomendations

wedge69

Local time
12:38 PM
Reaction score
Ok SO I know a lot of you guys are running the 5.7 hemi engine. I just bought a 2012 Challenger Low miles ( my Next gen Dream car ) and being a Mechanic by trade and an X racer I HATE toe 5W30 oil used in these engines. I switched my 98 Ram over to 20W50 since New so my Question to you all is Can I switch the engine over to a Better Oil or am I locked in ?
Anyone running something other than this Lite oil ?
Any Help is good help so let me know
As Always Thanks Up Front !

20190420_172339.jpg

Don’t change the weight, change the brand. I am a dealer for AMSOIL, if interested PM me I can get you a price quote.

00CBCAA0-2D0A-49AC-A727-263EBB6D2193.png
Amsoil. 0-30. Signature Synthetic. The best cold start and high heat protection. I use it in both 5.7 Hemis. 06 Daytona with MSD and 09 Challenger stick non shutdown. 06 has 54k mostly Amsoil miles. Purrs like a kitten. Annual change due to low annual miles. See the 5/20 recommendation on the cap from FCA? Means nothing to me. 20 is just too thin.
06 Charger in picture.

Don’t change the weight, change the brand. I am a dealer for AMSOIL, if interested PM me I can get you a price quote.
I agree with sticking with manufacturers' recommended weight. However, I run Mobil1 (synthetic) in both my late model hemi's.

I agree with sticking with manufacturers' recommended weight. However, I run Mobil1 (synthetic) in both my late model hemi's.
If the factory recommends it and warranty’s it for 60000 miles I’m good with it. I always ran Mobil 1 in my 6.1 until I became a dealer for Amsoil

Manufacturers care about emissions more than I do. I want more than 60k.