• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

50cc accelerator pump usage

440beep

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
12:14 PM
Reaction score
Is anybody using the 50cc accelerator pump on their Six Pack setup with success? If so, could you enlighten me with what cam and squirter size you are running please. I swapped in the 50cc pump and I'm having a hell of a time dialing in the low end response from a dead stop. I just want to check before I pull the carbs off again and put the 30cc pump back on.

And yes, I already know that alot of people say the 50cc pump isn't needed, but its already on and I just want to see if anyone is using it with good results first first.

i've been using six-paks since 1970. there isn't any reason on the planet to put that large accelerator pump on that small center carb. those pumps were actually designed for REO truck engines and should only be used (in my opinion) for large carbs with a lot of plenum volume in a drag race set-up. a six-pak is neither of these situations.

:icon_salut: Ok, its coming off this weekend then, starting tonight.

only reason for a 50cc acc pmp is too cover up off idle hesitation in big cam motors with an open plenum intake.you need the extra squirt to cover the lack of air velocity when you hit the go pedal.

that little center carb (it's equilivant to a 273 or 316 2bbl) doesn't need anymore than a .025 or .028 squirter (stock was .031) and a white 218 pump cam. you probably have some other issues going on.