• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

6.1 Hemi in 70 Challenger

soundcontrol

Local time
3:34 AM
Reaction score
Hi Hemi swappers, I'm just getting started with this. My car started out with a 340/727, (original engine was a 318) that I took out and got all fixed up with all new parts, I was gonna drive it like that for a few years then get a Gen 3 Hemi, but I didn't get it ready in time for this summer because of work eating up my time, so I decided to just go ahead and do the swap now instead. I bought a 6.1 Hemi out of a 2006 Charger, I got the engine with all accessories, a NAG1, pedals, shifter, harness and computers. My main headache now is IF I should use my 727 or if I should go ahead and build it with the NAG1. I really want the interior stock, with the shifter and console, a Charger shifter would not look good in there. But I also want an overdrive....Have 3:55 in the rear..... Hard decision, will make it soon. I know very little about the new engines, I will learn as I go. I think thats one of the resons I do this, love to learn new stuff. Driving the car is fun, but I seem to enjoy the work more than the driving. Last pict is the engine swap in my first Challenger in the 80's. 383 to a 440 with a 6-71 blower. I loved that blower, maybe this 6.1 Hemi ends up with one later. :icon_pirat:

Attachments

• 440-Blower.jpg
    440-Blower.jpg
    145.6 KB · Views: 945
  • Hemi.jpg
    Hemi.jpg
    84.7 KB · Views: 1,009
Here's my first question, what is this connector? It's on back of the head, drivers side.

Attachments

• IMG_2863.JPG
    IMG_2863.JPG
    47.7 KB · Views: 720
MANY more issues with the NAG1. I know. I'd have been done a year ago with mine, if I'd gone with another trans.

What I can figure out from the research I've done so far for the NAG1, the issues: