• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

6.1 hemi in 70 road runner. wat do i need?

tymann010

Local time
9:14 PM
Reaction score
hey guys im kinda new at this.. i got a 1970 road runner clone im working on and i wana put the 6.1 hemi and 6 speed transmission in it.... i was curious on if anyone knew wat all i need to have it hooked up or wat might need modified or if any companys make a kit that will alow me to do it.. any lil help on wat all harneses or any little things i will need to do this is greatly appretiated... thanks to all that help!

Alright tymann it's your lucky day cause I'm gonna help get ya on the right track.

1. Do you want to use the stock computer? If not, this opens up all kinds of doors for ya. Fast, Megasuirt, AEM etc can hook you up.
2. You'll need motor mounts, headers (all from TTI), intank fuel pump preferred but not necessary, although highly recomended.
3. Electric fan(s) depends on where and who you get a radiattor from, inlet/outlet hoses are on the same side for the 6.1 or car 5.7.
4. Stock computer can be programmed to due away with the auto trans so if this the way you go, contact Hotwireauto.com or Hotrodlane.cc or Bouchillonperformance.com or Modernmuscle.biz (dave weber is a hell of a nice guy). Either one of these places and probably more, can hook you up with a wiring harness for the stock application and it's plug and play also they can reprogram the computer.

Got more questions, just ask. Also do a search for Hemi swaps, you'll find all kinds of stuff.