• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

6-pack help!

65-440

Local time
9:52 PM
Reaction score
Ok, so i normally dont ask for much but i'm having trouble with this superbird. 440-6, running very rich, wont hold an idle ... when it does idle it stalls when put in gear. Just went through all 3 carbs, car has been sitting for 2.5yrs, they were nice and gummed up! anyway, timing is at 15 initial, 15" vacuum, outboard mixture screws 1/4 turn out.... outboard carb linkages disconnected, center carb fuel mixture screws all the way in and it still runs. Can see fuel being pulled in from the boosters, only way to stop it is with the throttle blades all the way closed. I have zero 6 pack experience but looking at it like "a carb is a carb" and it is frustrating the hell out of me. On any 4bbl with a function idle circuit, with the mixture screws all the way in it will stall, does a 6 pack not work the same way? I would think it should...What could be causing so much vacuum to be pulled through the venturi with the throttle blade almost completely closed?

I’d double check the fuel bowl levels and maybe set the floats a little lower. Also, the needles and seats could be leaking causing the bowl level to be high.

"went through" meaning you rebuilt them?
If yes, what carb kits did you use?
Is the excess fuel flowing only from the center?
Did you reset the float levels and check for flooding via the sight plug?

...... outboard carb linkages disconnected......
Careful here. If the outboards happen to open while running, you won't have the means to mechanically close them with the center throttle.

BTW, There are different gaskets for different style metering plates in the outboards. Recently a member discovered he had the wrong ones installed which evidently caused his flooding issue.