62 Polara Bezel/Cluster

1962 - 1965 Mopars

  1. FlagCraig

    FlagCraig Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    500
    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Local Time:
    1:28 PM
    I believe I have asked this before but I cannot find it in my post history.

    I have a replacement bezel for the dash that is in much better shape than original.
    See picture.

    If I want to replace just the bezel does the entire cluster need to come out too?

    Also, how do the nobs for the lights and wipers come off? I gently pulled to see if they would slide but no luck. Second pic is of existing dash.
    IMG_1041.JPG PolaraDash.jpg
     
  2. 66383

    66383 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    1948
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Location:
    calvert city, ky
    Local Time:
    1:28 PM
    On my 66 you must reach up under the dash to the headlight switch and press a small tab, then pull out the knob AND stem.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • khryslerkid

      khryslerkid FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      24,365
      Likes Received:
      38189
      Joined:
      Mar 10, 2010
      Location:
      Hanover, Pennslyvania
      Local Time:
      2:28 PM
      You have to remove it. Not that hard. Disconnect your battery. You have to remove the knob from the heater control (small allen screw under the knob). Then remove the small screws that hold the face plate on. Then you can remove the screws holding the cluster and carefully pull it out. You can reach the speedometer cable doing this or reach up under the dash and remove it first.

      Wires are fairly easy to get to after unfolding the metal retaining straps that hold the harness. Unplug the dash lights, remove nuts in the amp guage. Unplug headlight switch, remove wiper switch by removing the knob (small allen screw) then the nut. Mark where wires go with a piece of masking tape and take some good pictures.

      Once out you'll remove headlight switch and all the screws on the back to separate both pieces.

      I have lots of pics of this. Just pm me for any you need.

      20170623_155347.jpg 20170626_122523.jpg 20170626_124734.jpg 20160721_124606.jpg 20170628_230033.jpg

      I
       
      Last edited: Oct 20, 2018
      • Like Like x 2
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • khryslerkid

        khryslerkid FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        Messages:
        24,365
        Likes Received:
        38189
        Joined:
        Mar 10, 2010
        Location:
        Hanover, Pennslyvania
        Local Time:
        2:28 PM
        To remove the headlight switch (you can do this after you have the whole cluster out) first turn the switch knob all the way to the left (interior light position) then push on the button (red arrow) and pull the "shaft" out of the switch. Then you have to loosen the "nut", which has two slots in the end. Normally a flat blade screwdriver will turn it. Then the switch comes out.
        Screenshot_20181020-145953.jpg
         
        Last edited: Oct 20, 2018
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • khryslerkid

          khryslerkid FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          24,365
          Likes Received:
          38189
          Joined:
          Mar 10, 2010
          Location:
          Hanover, Pennslyvania
          Local Time:
          2:28 PM
          On the wiper switch, I just remove the knob (small allen screw under the knob) and remove the retaining nut. Leave the switch in the car.

          20181020_151029.jpg

          I see you have a clock. Before seperating the two halfs you'll have to remove the small hollow nut in the center of the knob. (Small screwdriver)

          Then you'll have to drill your replacement bensil for the knob the same size hole as your original.

          20170626_124417.jpg
           
          • Agree Agree x 1
          • FlagCraig

            FlagCraig Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            526
            Likes Received:
            500
            Joined:
            May 19, 2015
            Location:
            Tennessee
            Local Time:
            1:28 PM
            Great detailed info as always Kid. Very much appreciated.

            Was the clock an option on these cars?

            Also, which after market triple gauges did you get?

            One of these days I'm going to set an appointment with you and trailer the car to PA and pay your hourly rate.

            Thanks.
             
            • Like Like x 1
            • khryslerkid

              khryslerkid FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

              Messages:
              24,365
              Likes Received:
              38189
              Joined:
              Mar 10, 2010
              Location:
              Hanover, Pennslyvania
              Local Time:
              2:28 PM
              Yes the clock was an option. Funny thing about my '62 is that they ordered it with no power anything, no radio but they had to have the clock.

              I lucked out on fleabay and got the set of NOS Autometer guages, from 1970. It came with an AMP guage, with the warning about useing it. Come to find out, Autometer still makes these, so I bought a volt meter to replace it. I like them.

              No charge, glad I can help. Thats why I do it. If I'm ever in Tenn again I'll look you up. Heck there are several members down your way that I could stop by. I haven't been down there in about 10 years. Most all of my folks down there are all gone now. Just a couple of cousins left.

              Let me know how you make out, hit me up for any questions.
               
            • Dipstick

              Dipstick Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              1,005
              Likes Received:
              990
              Joined:
              Oct 26, 2018
              Location:
              Out West
              Local Time:
              11:28 AM
              On cars not equipped with a clock, the blockoff for the clock can easily be adapted to mount a 2 1/16" oil pressure gauge. The plastic blockoff is shaped somewhat like a cup, with the bottom of the cup removed you can slide the body of a 2 1/16" gauge into it and make use of that dead hole.
               
            • khryslerkid

              khryslerkid FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

              Messages:
              24,365
              Likes Received:
              38189
              Joined:
              Mar 10, 2010
              Location:
              Hanover, Pennslyvania
              Local Time:
              2:28 PM
              Welcome Dipstick!

              Hit the "Welcome Wagon" for a formal introduction and tell us what you have :thumbsup:
               
            • matthon

              matthon Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              798
              Likes Received:
              512
              Joined:
              Mar 3, 2018
              Location:
              New York
              Local Time:
              2:28 PM
              Old school

              20181105_174325.jpg
               
              • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
              1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.