• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

62 Rear End Project

DartProject62

Local time
6:42 AM
Reaction score
Good Afternoon Everyone!

This forum is such an incredible community! Thank you all for all the help so far, you have made my project so much more manageable!

I am seeking help today with my rear end (of my car). I am very new to restoring cars and dont want to make a mistake that I cant undo. I have begun by removing the rear end of my 1962 Dodge Dart. I had some difficulties removing the rear end, to include snapped bolts (shock absorbers, hanger bolts and a few others). I was not able to removed the single bolt on the leaf spring and had to remove the hanger instead. I also had a tough time with the shackles on the back. After getting the rear end off, I wanted to pick your brains and make sure that my proposed actions are the correct actions. Would you all be willing to
provide some feedback and let me know if I am gonna do something stupid or if there is a better way of going about it? I have seven areas that I would like help with, Hangers,Leaf Spring Bolts,Leaf Spring Repair, Leaf Spring Mounting Plate Ubolts, Leaf Spring Mounting Plate Shock Absorber, Cleaning Diff, Diff Seals (sorry if my terminology is incorrect, very new at this all)

Car: 1962 Dodge Dart 4dr
Rear End: I believe it is a 8 3/4 rear end, 741 #2070741

#1: Hangers - I had to remove the hangers because the bolt on the leaf spring was stuck and I was unable to get it off. To clean and replace the hangers is there
anything I need to do beyond hitting it with a wire brush to bare steel and repainting? Is there anything to look out for before placing back on the vehicle?