64 Sport Fury Shifter

1962 - 1965 Mopars

  1. TerryC

    TerryC Active Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Location:
    romeo,mi
    Local Time:
    8:46 PM
    I have a 64 Sort Fury with a stock shifter and console. Installed is 1972 727 automatic trans. I cannot get the shifter and trans in sync. I tried different transmission levers to no avail. Any body have any ideas that might help me out .
     
  2. moparcrazy

    moparcrazy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,929
    Likes Received:
    1246
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Location:
    california
    Local Time:
    8:46 PM
    are you using a after market cable? if not maybe you should try the B&M cable
     
  3. 33 IMP

    33 IMP Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    869
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Location:
    taxifornia,soon 2b Arizona.
    Local Time:
    6:46 PM
    I'm slightly confused. I thought 64s used a push button shifter. If you have a factory floor shifter that was used with a pb trans, I don't think it will work with a later trans. If you have a later floor shift to go with your later trans, I can't help, but I'm sure there are some here who can.
     
  4. furyus

    furyus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    663
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    weeki wachee, florida
    Local Time:
    9:46 PM
    I did this years ago. You need an aftermarket cable, and brackets. Then you have to make a bracket to hold the cable in front of the shifter, then you have to work out the lever ratio on the trans, and the shifter. Then you still have a shifter that easily misses when you try to manually shift. I went with an aftermarket shifter that would fit under the console, so i had the accurate gear engagement. I can't tell you what shifter I have, as it was used. But i hear a quicksilver shifter will work.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • TerryC

      TerryC Active Member

      Messages:
      26
      Likes Received:
      1
      Joined:
      Jan 16, 2014
      Location:
      romeo,mi
      Local Time:
      8:46 PM
       
    • TerryC

      TerryC Active Member

      Messages:
      26
      Likes Received:
      1
      Joined:
      Jan 16, 2014
      Location:
      romeo,mi
      Local Time:
      8:46 PM
      Have B&M cable. Tried multable levers nothing works. Last night I was paging through an old mopar mag and found some guys used a Quicksliver shifter and was able to keep everything looking stock. Hate to spend $300. and not have it work. I was hoping some old guy like myself would have a quick fix for me. Thanks to everyone.
       
    • miller

      miller FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      My Photo Garage
      Messages:
      3,424
      Likes Received:
      1544
      Joined:
      Jan 5, 2014
      Location:
      Tom Bean,Texas
      Local Time:
      8:46 PM
      My 64 Sport Fury 'was' a stock console shift, and yes, those used cables. But on mine, all the shifter stuff had been literally ripped out, so had to start fresh. Whoever had the car before had tried to mount a slap stick, out of a 70ish Olds 442! It is still in the car, and works great, but of course, I had to make it work, along with my 67 727. Was able to use linkage across the board.

      Probably won't work on your's, with a stock 64 console shifter. Lever (trans) to lever (shifter) must have the exact same sweep, or movement, from the two pivot points on each lever. Not that hard, if you figure what your working with. Just get accurate measurements off both, and go from there. That's what it takes, when working with cables.
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • moparsteve636

        moparsteve636 Well-Known Member

        My Photo Garage
        Messages:
        2,716
        Likes Received:
        479
        Joined:
        Dec 4, 2009
        Location:
        Mo.
        Local Time:
        8:46 PM
        Why not just get a BB 65 case and have every thing changed out of the 72? That way you can use the original shifter and console! Be less of a hassle than trying to jury rig a shifter! JMO
         
      • Big Bad Dad

        Big Bad Dad Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        833
        Likes Received:
        1056
        Joined:
        Jun 11, 2011
        Location:
        Fincastle, Va.
        Local Time:
        9:46 PM
        I think there is, or was, a company making an adapter to use a later trans with a cable shift car. I used to be on the mailing list at the 62 to 65 Mopar site. Might look over there for info. (Maybe Imperial Services or something similar was the company name?)
        http://www.1962to1965mopar.ornocar.com/welcome.html
         
      • 383man

        383man Well-Known Member

        My Photo Garage
        Messages:
        4,123
        Likes Received:
        2665
        Joined:
        Jul 19, 2008
        Location:
        Md
        Local Time:
        8:46 PM
        I run a 1970 style 727 trans in my 63 Sport Fury. I just use a B & M Pro Stick shifter and it works good for me. Been using this shifter since 2006. Ron

        407583081.jpg
         
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • furyus

          furyus Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,214
          Likes Received:
          663
          Joined:
          Jan 5, 2010
          Location:
          weeki wachee, florida
          Local Time:
          9:46 PM
          I have a B&M pro stick shifter. I really wanted to use it in my 64, but it just doesn't fit using the stock console.
           
          • Agree Agree x 1
          • furyus

            furyus Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            1,214
            Likes Received:
            663
            Joined:
            Jan 5, 2010
            Location:
            weeki wachee, florida
            Local Time:
            9:46 PM
            There isn't a quick fix using the stock shifter. It includes weldind a pin for the cable to attach on the stock shifter. Plus welding up a mount to hold the cable. The easiest answer is to use the aftermarket shifter.
             
          • 383man

            383man Well-Known Member

            My Photo Garage
            Messages:
            4,123
            Likes Received:
            2665
            Joined:
            Jul 19, 2008
            Location:
            Md
            Local Time:
            8:46 PM

            You are right as I left the console out of my 63 Sport Fury. Ron
             
          • Shorthorse

            Shorthorse Well-Known Member

            My Photo Garage
            Messages:
            841
            Likes Received:
            677
            Joined:
            Oct 6, 2012
            Location:
            Ohio
            Local Time:
            9:46 PM
            Just a guess but there are different rooster combs for 727's. Your later model 727 and the 64 shifter rooster combs have different part numbers and different detents. The comb is important because the detents must be the same as the shifter detent or they will not synchronize. The one on the left is for early model.
            Combs.jpg
             
            • Like Like x 1