64 Sport Fury Shifter

1962 - 1965 Mopars

  1. TerryC

    TerryC Active Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Location:
    romeo,mi
    Local Time:
    6:20 AM
    I have a 64 Sort Fury with a stock shifter and console. Installed is 1972 727 automatic trans. I cannot get the shifter and trans in sync. I tried different transmission levers to no avail. Any body have any ideas that might help me out .
     
  2. moparcrazy

    moparcrazy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    1075
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Location:
    california
    Local Time:
    6:20 AM
    are you using a after market cable? if not maybe you should try the B&M cable
     
  3. 33 IMP

    33 IMP Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    510
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Location:
    taxifornia,soon 2b Arizona.
    Local Time:
    4:20 AM
    I'm slightly confused. I thought 64s used a push button shifter. If you have a factory floor shifter that was used with a pb trans, I don't think it will work with a later trans. If you have a later floor shift to go with your later trans, I can't help, but I'm sure there are some here who can.
     
  4. furyus

    furyus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,189
    Likes Received:
    644
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    weeki wachee, florida
    Local Time:
    7:20 AM
    I did this years ago. You need an aftermarket cable, and brackets. Then you have to make a bracket to hold the cable in front of the shifter, then you have to work out the lever ratio on the trans, and the shifter. Then you still have a shifter that easily misses when you try to manually shift. I went with an aftermarket shifter that would fit under the console, so i had the accurate gear engagement. I can't tell you what shifter I have, as it was used. But i hear a quicksilver shifter will work.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • TerryC

      TerryC Active Member

      Messages:
      25
      Likes Received:
      1
      Joined:
      Jan 16, 2014
      Location:
      romeo,mi
      Local Time:
      6:20 AM
       
    • TerryC

      TerryC Active Member

      Messages:
      25
      Likes Received:
      1
      Joined:
      Jan 16, 2014
      Location:
      romeo,mi
      Local Time:
      6:20 AM
      Have B&M cable. Tried multable levers nothing works. Last night I was paging through an old mopar mag and found some guys used a Quicksliver shifter and was able to keep everything looking stock. Hate to spend $300. and not have it work. I was hoping some old guy like myself would have a quick fix for me. Thanks to everyone.
       
    • miller

      miller FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      My Photo Garage
      Messages:
      3,180
      Likes Received:
      1373
      Joined:
      Jan 5, 2014
      Location:
      Tom Bean,Texas
      Local Time:
      6:20 AM
      My 64 Sport Fury 'was' a stock console shift, and yes, those used cables. But on mine, all the shifter stuff had been literally ripped out, so had to start fresh. Whoever had the car before had tried to mount a slap stick, out of a 70ish Olds 442! It is still in the car, and works great, but of course, I had to make it work, along with my 67 727. Was able to use linkage across the board.

      Probably won't work on your's, with a stock 64 console shifter. Lever (trans) to lever (shifter) must have the exact same sweep, or movement, from the two pivot points on each lever. Not that hard, if you figure what your working with. Just get accurate measurements off both, and go from there. That's what it takes, when working with cables.
       
    • moparsteve636

      moparsteve636 Well-Known Member

      My Photo Garage
      Messages:
      2,663
      Likes Received:
      450
      Joined:
      Dec 4, 2009
      Location:
      Mo.
      Local Time:
      6:20 AM
      Why not just get a BB 65 case and have every thing changed out of the 72? That way you can use the original shifter and console! Be less of a hassle than trying to jury rig a shifter! JMO
       
    • Big Bad Dad

      Big Bad Dad Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      700
      Likes Received:
      820
      Joined:
      Jun 11, 2011
      Location:
      Fincastle, Va.
      Local Time:
      7:20 AM
      I think there is, or was, a company making an adapter to use a later trans with a cable shift car. I used to be on the mailing list at the 62 to 65 Mopar site. Might look over there for info. (Maybe Imperial Services or something similar was the company name?)
      http://www.1962to1965mopar.ornocar.com/welcome.html
       
    • 383man

      383man Well-Known Member

      My Photo Garage
      Messages:
      4,042
      Likes Received:
      2448
      Joined:
      Jul 19, 2008
      Location:
      Md
      Local Time:
      6:20 AM
      I run a 1970 style 727 trans in my 63 Sport Fury. I just use a B & M Pro Stick shifter and it works good for me. Been using this shifter since 2006. Ron

      407583081.jpg
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • furyus

        furyus Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,189
        Likes Received:
        644
        Joined:
        Jan 5, 2010
        Location:
        weeki wachee, florida
        Local Time:
        7:20 AM
        I have a B&M pro stick shifter. I really wanted to use it in my 64, but it just doesn't fit using the stock console.
         
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • furyus

          furyus Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,189
          Likes Received:
          644
          Joined:
          Jan 5, 2010
          Location:
          weeki wachee, florida
          Local Time:
          7:20 AM
          There isn't a quick fix using the stock shifter. It includes weldind a pin for the cable to attach on the stock shifter. Plus welding up a mount to hold the cable. The easiest answer is to use the aftermarket shifter.
           
        • 383man

          383man Well-Known Member

          My Photo Garage
          Messages:
          4,042
          Likes Received:
          2448
          Joined:
          Jul 19, 2008
          Location:
          Md
          Local Time:
          6:20 AM

          You are right as I left the console out of my 63 Sport Fury. Ron
           
        • Shorthorse

          Shorthorse Well-Known Member

          My Photo Garage
          Messages:
          758
          Likes Received:
          571
          Joined:
          Oct 6, 2012
          Location:
          Ohio
          Local Time:
          7:20 AM
          Just a guess but there are different rooster combs for 727's. Your later model 727 and the 64 shifter rooster combs have different part numbers and different detents. The comb is important because the detents must be the same as the shifter detent or they will not synchronize. The one on the left is for early model.
          Combs.jpg
           
          • Like Like x 1