• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

67 R/T 440 Air cleaner saga continues

dammstrate

Local time
5:05 PM
Reaction score
Thanks folks for all your comments on my previous post about the no snorkle air cleaner. I am fairly new to Mopars, so don't know all the details, yet. For example I didn't realize the Holley on the car has a 5 1/8" air horn. Normal AFBs are 4 7/8". So the person who suggested this was an air cleaner off a 1968
C body with a Holley was probably right. After poking all around the internet, it seems the NORMAL air cleaner for a 67 440HP R/T is dual snorkel, no oil breather nipple, and pie pan says 440 MAGNUM on it.

1 - anyone know what kind of Holley this is (pic)? Looks like a big double pumper (yes, I know bad for the street), but I can't for the life of me find any kind of part number anywhere. Intake is Mopar P5153525 that you can get at Summit or Jegs.
2 - I have the original AFB in a box, looks all complete, but has provisions for heat riser choke, which no longer exists with the current manifold
3 - I think Ebrock AVS are also 5 1/8", yes?

My dilemma:
- want to ditch the Holley
- current intake doesn't have heat riser choke, so can't use the original carb without re-installing the original intake (which I have, but I like the aluminum look)
- original carb needs smaller air cleaner, but then choke won't work
- AVS needs larger air cleaner, but the current one on the car is a 68 with air breather port
- does an AFB exist that doesn't have heat riser choke?

I think my best option is get an AVS electric choke, and a no snorkel air cleaner with no air breather nipple --> does that exist?

Any other suggestions to keep the aluminum intake? Did Mopar make a 5 1/4" dual snorkel air cleaner?