• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

68 440 plug wire routing

Macdon221

Local time
6:03 AM
Reaction score
Hey All,

Please don’t beat me up. Lol. I am relatively new at this MOPAR game but love restoring things like the way it was. Or close as possible. I have traditionally been an airplane/motorcycle guy...but forging into the mopars.

I am looking for insight on the correct, or most accepted way of routing the plug wires through the plug wire brackets on the engine. I have a few brochures/original literature home that has engine photos...and surprisingly they match each other. They are not the same photo. But can only see the top brackets and not the bottom of the passenger side or drivers side. See photos below of the vintage literature.

I have combed the FSM but see nothing.

Can anyone help or point me in the right direction?

3D4BA5F4-AB99-4BE3-AF5B-455DE424EA2B.jpeg 5081C6FB-400E-46D2-81D5-ADB37B3768A2.jpeg

So it’s the plug wire routing though the “P” bracket on the ‘68 that I am looking for. Great info and diagrams there BeepBeepRR...very appreciative.

Any photos of proper wire routings (what wire goes in each slot) through these brackets on a 68 440?

The top pictures of the actual engine should be pretty close over the years.. I was not alive when these cars were built so ya kinda have to rely old the older gents and the photos. But the pictures above should be relative because they only fit into the notches in order. If you overlap then you have a mess. You can see on 1,3,5,7 the go from 7 to bottom to 5 next slot up and so on it just makes sense. If you took number 7 wire and stuck it into the second slot up the wires would overlap and look goofy.