• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

68 charger body work

benno440

Local time
6:27 PM
Reaction score
Hi guys, i am looking for tips, videos and hints to help me remove and replace my rear quarter panels on my 68 charger. i have new AMD ones as my old ones are damaged beyond repair.

I am a boilermaker by trade but have not done alot if any auto sheetmetal, but happy to give anything a go.

whats my first step? paint removal for finding spot welds etc?

any tips appreciated :)

IMAG1064-20170912-22023170.jpg

First we need to know if they're full quarters or Not? Usually a quick hit with a wire wheel will highlight where the welds are, if they're full quarters be ready to melt the lead out of the upper seam. I would have the doors on and adjusted correctly to help with the realignment of the new ones. Full quarters are cakewalk just take your time tweaking and checking fitment before you weld:thumbsup:

I also like to have a can of weld threw primer for the job.

First we need to know if they're full quarters or Not? Usually a quick hit with a wire wheel will highlight where the welds are, if they're full quarters be ready to melt the lead out of the upper seam. I would have the doors on and adjusted correctly to help with the realignment of the new ones. Full quarters are cakewalk just take your time tweaking and checking fitment before you weld:thumbsup:
full quarters.
do you use standard drill bit to remove spotwelds or is there special tool?

full quarters.
do you use standard drill bit to remove spotwelds or is there special tool?