• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

A gift from my son...

QuickBpBp

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
9:32 AM
Reaction score
Just wanted to share what my son built for me and my wife. A giant wood shed 14x8. He built it at nights from 6-8:30 after working 10.5-11hrs at his job and a few weekends in between snow and rain. The nights he would burn his cut-offs so he could warm his hands up. Started it Thanksgiving and he finished it Christmas day in the snow showers. He is a carpenter by trade. It's built to the grade of the land. Almost all of it was reclaimed from jobs he worked on. I had to buy very little. Even the 6x6 were used for a few weeks as temporary supports then thrown away. Boss was happy my son took all 16 of them cause he said we have to pay per pound to get rid of them. That was over $1,000 for them. It is crazy how wasteful job sites become. Anyway the siding is old horse fence boards he planed and the batons are those boards ripped in 1/2 then cut so the were not bulky looking. Rafters were old floor joists from a demo job where they put an addition on. The back wall is galvanized roof from a barn they refinished. I felt we didn't need wood back there and it's the backside and covered in trees(damp). Not bad for a 20 year old. Very proud of him and his knowledge and work ethic..

Our furry kid even had fun with moving the wood into it. All those scents as to what could have been under those tarps!

DSCN1578.JPG DSCN1579.JPG DSCN1580.JPG DSCN1581.JPG DSCN1582.JPG DSCN1533.JPG DSCN1534.JPG DSCN1588.JPG DSCN1591.JPG DSCN1592.JPG

Last edited:
That's great for two reasons One your son was raised right and looks out for family. Two he has skill that no one can take away and people will always need. Congrats on a great person

Last edited: