• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Advice needed - electric fuel pump system for Carb

Dbl_R69

Local time
6:52 AM
Reaction score
Hi Mopar fam! I'm looking to get some advice on a fuel system upgrade. Here's my current setup. I have a 69 Roadrunner with a street/strip (mostly street driven) 440 putting out around 600 hp with a 950 holley ultra double pumper (mechanical). fuel is ran from the stock tank with a stock 3/8" fuel sending unit, 3/8" line to a carter mechanical fuel pump (Strip Super pump M4862). Car runs great, However the mechanical fuel pump went out on me... 2nd one over the last 5 years, both for different reasons. Anyhow, I'm thinking of switching over to an electric fuel pump for quite a few other reasons along with not wanting to deal with the mechanical anymore.

I am new to all this electric fuel pump stuff, so bear with me lol. I was going to sump the original tank and run an external electric fuel pump with a regulator. My only thing with the external pumps is the noise... i cant stand it if I can hear it while the car is running. But i do understand a lot of that noise comes with how its mounted. I've also seen that they don't do too well in the heat... my summers are a constant 90-100 degrees and do plan to drive it to car shows.

I guess my questions for the external pumps is.... Are there any out there that are actually quiet? and, What is the best way to keep the pump cool if its outside of the tank?

which brings me to my next possible upgrade. Instead of an external pump, what about an In-tank fuel pump system? I don't know much about the in-tank fuel pump systems, however majority say they're for EFI. At this particular time I don't want to switch over to EFI and want to keep everything the same with just a fuel system upgrade.