• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Alternator

Dreadl0ck

Local time
5:55 AM
Reaction score
So, I'm looking at upgrading my alternator after I've added some things to the car and today I realized I don't know anything about our alternators.

Current one has more than one wire coming from it, so I guess its not a one wire setup (I know, I'm not good at this...but trying to learn)

Headed to summit racing.com and saw that there was two different types - squared and round. Will either fit, or do they use different brackets?

Teach me oh masters!

Not sure about square/round vs. the brackets, but if you're looking for an aftermarket alternator, you might check out Power Masters

I believe it would depend on what year your car is. The round back style is the older version and the square back is the newer type. I believe they both mount the same way (brackets) and I think they both have 2 field wires. The newer type was available with higher amp outputs and I think both were available as single or dual pulley. As mentioned above, Power Master makes brand new versions of both. I always like to plan for the future and buy a higher output unit. Stock units without A/C and other options were rated at or near 60 amps or lower. Not sure what was factory on a high optioned car, it would vary from year to year. I bought a new Power Master 95 amp dual pulley from Summit last year as I want to add some goodies later after I rob a bank or inherit some moola. Good Luck! Someone will most likely correct me as I am no expert! It's a crap shoot at best! :)