• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

And I thought our full sized cars were pricey...

Time to start digging through some old boxes.

20 grand?!?!?!?!?

source.gif

I don't see those being worth any were near that. Maybe a few grand a piece. But he is just advertising at this point. One thing I have noticed, the strange thing with redline hot wheels is that they seem to go for more money when sold in lots (at least on ebay). General rule being that the opposite is usually true for collectables.

Roger dodger is a one year 73 only car I guess he is saying blue is a very rare color. Seems like he is saying the same for the 442, blue being exceptionally rare & desirable. The mustang has louvered windows which is what is notable about that car. I am not an expert but it seems like he is talking them up considerably. Redlines can be rare but not once in a lifetime type rare unless they are a prototype.

For 20K I will put that toward the real thing. Damn a toy.

I’ve sold several Redline hotwheels.
I sold an “army staff car” (72 olds, if I’m not mistaken) for 400 bucks on eBay several years back.
Apparently, it’s a hard one to find.
I know a guy from bicycle collecting that sold a hotwheels collection for north of 200,000.

Crazy what folks will pay to relive a part of their childhood.

What I hate about these, and similar eBay ads is this:
Someone will see this ad and suddenly “ ...these are going for $20K on eBay now”.
Uummmm... nope.
Someone is WANTING $20K for one. Different then SELLING one for $20K.
I’ve seen this happen countless times.