Any furnace guru's?

General Discussion

  1. Burnout68

    Burnout68 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Local Time:
    11:30 PM
    How is your air filter
    Could be a limit opening then up then closes when cools after burners shut off
    What does your furnace do step by step when you start it up
    How long do burners stay on
     
  2. Burnout68

    Burnout68 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Local Time:
    11:30 PM
    Flame sensor usually can reach with extended nut driver 1=1/4”screw under burners
    Then you can fish the sensor out
    They really don’t go bad but do need cleaning every so often with some sand cloth or scotchbrite pad
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Ron H

      Ron H FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      6,670
      Likes Received:
      7344
      Joined:
      Feb 29, 2016
      Location:
      WI
      Local Time:
      12:30 AM
      My garage unit does not have a filter, the design of this unit has no clearance to get any tool to the screw heads without removing the bracket that looks to be one piece. As mentioned, for some dang reason the sensor screws are behind instead of front access unlike the switches and other components.
       
    • Burnout68

      Burnout68 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      138
      Likes Received:
      107
      Joined:
      Mar 1, 2020
      Location:
      New Mexico
      Local Time:
      11:30 PM
      How long do your burners stay on
       
    • Burnout68

      Burnout68 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      138
      Likes Received:
      107
      Joined:
      Mar 1, 2020
      Location:
      New Mexico
      Local Time:
      11:30 PM
      How is your blower is it dirty
      If to dirty they don’t move the amount of air they are designed to and can cause limits to trip
      Make sure all registers are open and the ducts are unobstructed
       
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Burnout68

        Burnout68 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        138
        Likes Received:
        107
        Joined:
        Mar 1, 2020
        Location:
        New Mexico
        Local Time:
        11:30 PM
        The flame sensor with the yellow wire going to it
        When look at it under burners you don’t see a screw head attaching to that burner mount
         
      • Burnout68

        Burnout68 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        138
        Likes Received:
        107
        Joined:
        Mar 1, 2020
        Location:
        New Mexico
        Local Time:
        11:30 PM
        It’s tight under there that’s why need a long handle Magnetic tip nut driver don’t disconnect wire it’s easier to fish out with the wire on,can only fit a finger or 2 to try and fish it out it’s usually a L shaped metal rod
         
      • Ron H

        Ron H FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        Messages:
        6,670
        Likes Received:
        7344
        Joined:
        Feb 29, 2016
        Location:
        WI
        Local Time:
        12:30 AM
        When tapping to get it going (mentioned the tap trick in an earlier post) the burners stay on to meet the thermo setting temp. It will complete its cycle fine. When it isn’t functioning right, the blower will run constantly and the burners will infrequently ignite for a around a minute then cycle off. The blower does eventually shut down meaning it won’t run forever; good thing when I’m not home.
         
      • Burnout68

        Burnout68 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        138
        Likes Received:
        107
        Joined:
        Mar 1, 2020
        Location:
        New Mexico
        Local Time:
        11:30 PM
        yeah usually will try 3 times then will lock out until reset
        Sounds more like a limit than the flame sensor
        When a flame sensor is giving trouble the burners will stay on for a few seconds only
        So I would look for the lack of air flow causing it to run hot and trip on a limit
        Especially if system doesent have a filter would look at blower wheel closely
         
        Last edited: Jan 4, 2022
        • Agree Agree x 2
        • RemCharger

          RemCharger Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          2,101
          Likes Received:
          1700
          Joined:
          Apr 5, 2014
          Location:
          Sask
          Local Time:
          12:30 AM
          I do pick up what you're putting down.
          But,, as a vented exhaust unit.. wouldn't the exchanger be under vacuum,, not pressure? And therefore pulling air in, not pushing exhaust out?
          Thought the crack deal was more about draft systems.. That's why they created vented
           
          • Agree Agree x 1
          • RemCharger

            RemCharger Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            2,101
            Likes Received:
            1700
            Joined:
            Apr 5, 2014
            Location:
            Sask
            Local Time:
            12:30 AM
            The orangey tube from the blower motor to the round sensor. Try taking it off and seeing if water or obstruction in there.
             
            • Agree Agree x 1
            • Ron H

              Ron H FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

              Messages:
              6,670
              Likes Received:
              7344
              Joined:
              Feb 29, 2016
              Location:
              WI
              Local Time:
              12:30 AM
              I put in a new blower and motor about two months ago. I did this when putzing with the switches. Inspected the vent pipe (it runs out through the garage wall and has a 'T' ending on the vent pipe. Found a sizeable hornets next in the T then though not enough to really impede it, removed the nest and used compressed on the blower end to clear out any debris, didn't find much getting blown out.
               
            • Demonic

              Demonic Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              1,593
              Likes Received:
              1418
              Joined:
              Jun 5, 2017
              Location:
              Maryland
              Local Time:
              1:30 AM
              Sounds like a dirty exchanger, possible cycling on the high limit. You mentioned no filter. Bad idea, that will cause the symptom you describe. Also, the exchanger now runs hot due to a covering of dirt on the air side. Which can lead to a cracked exchanger. As others said, 20 yrs is a good avg life. Make it right before it's a real problem. Find a good HVAC tech that can check draft, fireside, air side rise, manifold gas pressure, clean, etc. Extra points if they use a Dwyer #1227 manometer to check manifold gas pressure.
               
            • tnfastback

              tnfastback FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

              Messages:
              2,693
              Likes Received:
              6018
              Joined:
              Jul 4, 2016
              Location:
              East Tennessee
              Local Time:
              1:30 AM
              Guy jumps out of a plane and begins falling frantically pulling at his rip cord. Half way down he passes a guy going up and says “Do you know anything about parachutes?”
              The guy responds “No, do you happen to know anything about gas furnaces?” :lol:
               
            • Burnout68

              Burnout68 Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              138
              Likes Received:
              107
              Joined:
              Mar 1, 2020
              Location:
              New Mexico
              Local Time:
              11:30 PM
              Depending how dirty the blower wheel was usually air doesent do it we use a cleaner and water simple green will work on some stuff but if Heavy debris may have to wash then brush it and wash again till clean if that dirty
              It’s Common especially if no filter
               
              Last edited: Jan 4, 2022
              • Agree Agree x 1
              • F4R/T

                F4R/T Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                2,418
                Likes Received:
                3410
                Joined:
                Jun 17, 2020
                Location:
                Illinois
                Local Time:
                12:30 AM
                There is some pressure I don’t recall psi not much.. but it wouldn’t be able to carry the flue gases out correctly is what ultimately could happen. When the inducer motor turns on there are pressure switches the measure air flow thru. If it builds too much it knows there is a problem and will try a few more times then error out.
                 
                • Agree Agree x 1
                • Ron H

                  Ron H FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                  Messages:
                  6,670
                  Likes Received:
                  7344
                  Joined:
                  Feb 29, 2016
                  Location:
                  WI
                  Local Time:
                  12:30 AM
                  Yeah, there's a lot involved as possible demons for sure. The old blower wasn't very dirty; but the motor spindle had some excess play causing some noise so figured it wise to get a new unit. Not that expensive surprised to find. Haven't found any water/moisture in the tube. I run this constantly thru the winter keeping the garage around 40 degrees and up it to 55-60 when I'm in the garage...that being most days.
                   
                • Burnout68

                  Burnout68 Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  138
                  Likes Received:
                  107
                  Joined:
                  Mar 1, 2020
                  Location:
                  New Mexico
                  Local Time:
                  11:30 PM
                  You can measure the air temp in and out see what temp difference you got
                  On the name plate where model and serial number it should show a temp rise on it
                  Example: 55-85 degree temp rise
                  So if your temp difference between intake and supply should be in that range
                   
                • F4R/T

                  F4R/T Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  2,418
                  Likes Received:
                  3410
                  Joined:
                  Jun 17, 2020
                  Location:
                  Illinois
                  Local Time:
                  12:30 AM
                  My folks house has a 1970s AFCO unit in it, never fails just replace blower motor once and it sees regular service from dad and now my brother. I tried to get him to update I looked inside it was clean a pin and big cast iron burners I knew it would probably outlast me. It’s still hummin away.. not as efficient but reliable!
                   
                  • Like Like x 1
                  • Ron H

                    Ron H FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                    Messages:
                    6,670
                    Likes Received:
                    7344
                    Joined:
                    Feb 29, 2016
                    Location:
                    WI
                    Local Time:
                    12:30 AM
                    The furnace was designed without a filter...seems like a not good thing, but surprised how clean it is especially the ports interior of the exchanger (far as I can gawk at). Flames are steady in unison like rockette dancers.
                     
                  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.