• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Axel removal 1962 Dart

pgbarrow

Local time
2:29 AM
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm very new to this and while I do have a book it's kind of a bunch of gobbledygook at this point to me. I've found a good video on removing the brake, but it misses the part where you remove the hub? (The plate the lugs for the lug nuts are pressed into) from the axel. Does this just pull off with a puller tool? I have everything hooked up to a puller now, but want to make sure I'm on the right path before cranking on this. Parts are hard to come by.

Paul

IMG_20210918_125525043.jpg

If you're just working on the brakes there's no need to remove the hub. You've got the right setup to pull the hub, just be sure you removed the castle nut from the end of the axle first! Sometimes you need some heat to get the tapered axle to release the hub. If you want to pull the axle, there should be nuts on the back side (inside) of the backing plate around the axle housing which you have to remove.
No need to remove the hub just to pull the axle. In fact it comes in handy as you put the brake drum on backwards and just start 3 lug nuts. Then slide the drum back and forth, acting as something of a hammer, pulling out as hard as you can. That will free the axle from the housing.

The only down side to that approach is the backing plate will then have to come off with the axle, even though it's loose. You'll have to disconnect the brake line and e-brake cable in order to fully remove the backing plate. If you pulled the hub first, you could just remove the brake line and move the backing plate out of the way with the e-brake still attached.

Hope that makes sense.

Thanks PBR,