• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

b body torsion bar adjustment

rustymetal

Local time
2:26 PM
Reaction score
I have a 1968 coronet and looking at the car from the side it looks like the car has air shocks on the back, but it doesnt. I have been told that you can raise and lower the front end of the car by adjusting the front torsion bars. I am new to mopars and do not know anything about it. Can anyone tell me the proper way to do this? How much can I raise the front end? Will it complicate things when the time comes for a front end alignment? Any and all help with this will be much appreciated. Right now the car looks kind of cartuny, which when I was 17 years old probably would have looked cool to me, but I want to level car out or maybe give it a slight gasser look. Thanks, rustymetal

There is a bolt on the bottom of the lower control arm, righty tighty to raise it , lefty loosey to lower it. No dont get wild either way you go, cause it will affect the alignment if it is severe (higher, lower).

Some of the others will chime in and give you a more complete detail on the pro's and con's, but get it where you like and then get an alignment.

The full range can give you a good 1 to 2" of height change - more or less depending I guess. The higher you go the stiffer the suspension seems to get so keep that in mind.

Adjusting them can be a real workout if you do it with a ratchet. Also in between each adjustment make sure you work the front suspension up and down before checking measurements to settle the suspension in to the change.

...also, tell your alignment guy (if you can find a good one), that you set them there on purpose. Some shops will put them back to "factory" height before they do the alignment.