• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

B & M Trick shift vs Dextron Trans fluid

Cyty Slykers

Local time
2:09 AM
Reaction score
I have a brand new transmission and curious about which fluids to go with.

what does the Brand new trans builder suggest ?

I changed converters so now I have a b & m tork master 2000 stall in the tranny.

I always ran Type F in all of mine.

Just curious why the expensive 2000 rpm stall converter over a stock unit?

I had my engine rebuilt(mild build) and due to all of the upgrades/components the engine shop told me to go with that particular stall.

This is one of the questions that will get opinions all over the place. I would try to find out what the rebuilder suggests. Good luck.

My friends that are still running race cars had lost a few transmissions recently. .. After doing some research they found that the ATF has suffered the same fate as oil with additives being taken out. They made the switch to Lucas Oil Marine ATF type F and everything is again right with the world .. no other changes and now the trans lives like it used to... not sure if you are running alot of power and if this will be an issue or not for you but sounds like the ATF is changing now too.....

I tried the B&M Trick Shift in my tranny, and that blue color sure makes it a PIA to check on the stick. Much prefer the red tranny fluid coloring and Cope Racing Transmission uses the Penzoil fluid, looks to be Dextron II type from his website.

This is one of the questions that will get opinions all over the place. I would try to find out what the rebuilder suggests. Good luck.