• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Battery overcharging 15.3-15.6V

JG1966

Local time
7:38 PM
Reaction score
My battery is charging at 15.3 to 15.6 depending on rpms. I am a newbie to electronics and some of you guys are brilliant. I need help. I did research on site and ran some tests. I unhooked the field wires at the alternator and battery did not charge (I believe that means alternator is good). I didvoltage drop from battery negative to voltage regulator case. Got .00 to 01V. I have good grounds from battery to engine, battery to radiator frame, engine block to firewall and engine block to frame.
These are some numbers. If any of them look wrong (after first two, obviously), please let me know
1. Battery post to post (car off) 12.6V
2. Battery car idling to 1500rpm 15.3-15.6V
3. Alternator power wire stud 15.5 at idle
Now, I'm not sure when I test blue and green wires at alternator if I go to field wires and to ground or if I go one to battery positive and other probe to field wire (and not sure if I'm supposed to probe from back with wires still on alternator or if I'm supposed to disconnect from alternator and probe into the connector from the front).
So here it is (all these with car running)
1. Battery positive to green field wire connected to alternator 6v (bounces between 6-0.5v)
2. Battery positive to green field wire disconnected from alternator 13v (bounces around between 13-2v)
3. Battery positive to blue field wire connected to alternator 1.40v
2. Battery positive to blue field wire disconnected from alternator .96v
I know this is confusing but any help would be great.

Last edited:
“3. Battery positive to blue field wire connected to alternator 1.40v”