• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Cam Timing

Triple Black 73

Local time
10:06 PM
Reaction score
I've never built an engine before and my dad has only done stock builds. We built a 383 bored .060 over with a Sealed Power CS-661 cam ( http://fme-cat.com/overlays/part-detail.aspx?brand=SP&PartNumber=CS-661&pt=Camshaft#.UmXVpd_D_IU ), stock heads, stock intake, and a single bolt timing set.

We got it running, but it won't idle below 900 rpm and it won't start unless we pour gas down the carb. Setting the timing anything before at 10 degrees BTDC resulted in backfiring and fire out the carb.

A compression test showed that we have 150 psi in 1 & 3, but just 125 psi in #5. #5 was leaking out the exhaust valve before the piston reach TDC. We didn't test any further.

My dad is thinking bent valve, but I'm thinking cam timing. Other folks posted issues on online of the issues they had with this exact cam. This looks like a popular cam for people looking to add a little more power to an otherwise stock build. One guy said he had the same issue when he set it up dot to dot. Another guy said he had a similar cam that set to 4 degrees advanced with 15 degree BTDC initial timing. http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php?topic=105628.0;wap2

First, question is how do we figure out what the cam timing should be?

Second question, if we take anonymous Mopar guy at face value, what timing gear do we need to set it to 4 degrees at the cam? We currently have this timing set: http://www.enginekits.com/enginetech-complete-engine-timing-components-10258.html https://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo.php?pk=5578302&jsn=3

Third, what can we do to make this job easier? Timing tape around the balancer maybe? A degree wheel?