• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Carb and Cam suggestion for stock '78 360

68 Sport Satellite

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
5:56 PM
Reaction score
I'm looking for suggestions on carb and cam.

I'm working on a lot of different things for my '68 Plymouth Satellite. For the last 6 months off and on I've been doing some research on carb and cam selection for my fairly stock 360 motor. Please bear with me as I'm a newbie on engine internal specifics and all of the spec #'s quoted like lift and duration. This car is currently a weekend driver and it runs fine, but I would like to up the torque. When I bought the car, the previous owner had swapped out the stock 318 for a 360 from a '78 Dodge Truck, which means that it's the smog engine setup (which I've learned, is not all that bad where the heads are concerned.)

I've narrowed the carb down to either keeping my Edelbrock 1405 600cfm or swapping it out for a Quick Fuel street series vacuum secondary 680cfm. If the Quick Fuel will help me I'm all for it, but if it will hurt performance on my motor then......I don't want to overcarb. Is the QF 680 OK for my current stock mild cam? Will it also be OK if I go to the next level of mild cam (thinking either Isky Mega Cam or Lunati Voodoo - was looking at the 60401)

I'm not sure on the cam, but from what I've read, I need to keep it somewhat mild due to my low compression ratio. For now, I'm not completely concerned about a specific cam, but I would like to choose a cam manufacturer. I'm leaning towards either the Isky Mega Cam series or a Lunati Voodoo cam.

Here's the info for my car:
• 1978 360 small block from a dodge truck
• Stock 360 smog heads
• Currently has the stock cam
• Edelbrock Performer intake manifold
• Long tube no-name non-ceramic coated headers