• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Carter BBD question

Ben Simpkins

Local time
11:09 PM
Reaction score
Hi everybody, this week I decided to rebuild the carb on my 66 satellite with a 361. The carburetor on my car is a Carter BBD 4297 model. My question is what is the cone shaped rubber piece called and what is its purpose? It sits just above the bowl and every time I started it up it would always leak from there . Also, this is my first time tearing into a carburetor so if anybody has some tips, I would appreciate it! Thanks

IMG_1311.JPG

That is the accelerator pump. The rebuild kit should come with a replacement. Check the throttle shafts for slop. The Carters are known to have leaky throttle shafts.

It is a bowl vent. If you have fuel coming out there the fuel level is to high. Host of possibilities. Float, float setting, needle&seat, fuel pressure.

That is the accelerator pump. The rebuild kit should come with a replacement. Check the throttle shafts for slop. The Carters are known to have leaky throttle shafts.
Nope its a bowl vent.

Right...3rd shift this week lol. The rebuild kit should have a replacement rubber parts. If fuel comes out of the vent the float is too high/sunk or the needle and seat has malfunctioned.