• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Complete front suspension rebuild and some rear also.

Doug Larsson

Local time
11:12 PM
Reaction score
I thought I would document what I did to the front end of my 1973 Dodge Charger. It might come in handy to others who want to do this on there own. Let me say I'm not a real mechanic I'm a machinist by trade for the past 34 years I've worked on all sorts of race cars and dirt bikes so I do know my way around some. Now I'm sure there are better ways but this is how I did it. I went with Firm Feel on the suspension bushing kit, torsion bars, Bilstien shocks,Lower controls arm parts, reinforced stamp steel lower control arm. I also purchased brand new slotted/hole disc brakes to replace the front and I'm taking the drums off and installing slotted/disc on tube rear also. I recently purchased front and rear sway bars from PST also. I will update when I have times to do it I hope this will help some of you. Please refrain from jumping on here with non related problems I'd like to keep this related to this task.

20190412_170607.jpg 20190420_211259.jpg 20190508_192450.jpg 20190421_163950.jpg 20190428_151053.jpg 20190428_152236.jpg 20190428_152641.jpg 20190501_191444 (2).jpg

I did a ton of cleaning of old grease I found some great degreaser wipes at Walmart there made by Gunk there pretty durable for being a paper product. I installed the idler arm and the tie rods but kept every thing loose till I get more parts on the car it just makes it easier to assemble. I'm picking up my lower control arms today and have alot of the weekend to install some parts .

20190501_195946.jpg 20190501_211617.jpg

About to start a suspension rebuild on my 74 RR. Very excited to see how yours goes! Good luck!