• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Compression ratio & 1.5 vs 1.6 rockers

1967coronet440

Local time
4:08 AM
Reaction score
Evening gents, 2 questions for you guys. At what compression ratio is it necessary to start using race gas, also what is the difference between 1.5 & 1.6 rockers? Go easy on me I'm a rookie! Trying to figure out which pistons to get with the stroker kit so I can stay on pump gas, and what rockers to get with my cam. a little background on my current build - 440 block, scat 505 stroker, trick flow power port 240 heads, leaning towards comp xtreme energy 286 solid roller cam.

As always Thanks for your help

Rocker ratio's are simple, multiplication by lever. For every distance of 1x that the pushrod moves, the rocker moves the valve 1.5x (or 1.6x as the case may be).

As far as fuel Requirements go, it comes down to the dynamic compression ratio.

IF you can surply the static ratio and the actual cam you intend to use, it would be of great help. Some of us can calculate the dynamic with the info I mentioned and some know via experience with the info I asked for.

Generally speaking, a pump gas car can live easy with a 10-1 iron head or at 11-1 aluminum head with the cam you mentioned above.

Also realize you need not grab every last bit of compression to make excellent power. There is more power in the engine with great flowing heads and other great flowing parts. Intake, headers, the exhaust system.

You will grab more power with that than a tiny 3% more with an extra single point of compression.

The compression ratios are not really a limit on their own. So the question doesn't really have a definitive answer.