• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

convert to a 1 wire alt ?

jprather

FBBO Gold Member
FBBO Gold Member
Local time
4:59 AM
Reaction score
so, not to sound stupid , in order to change from a 3 wire to a 1 wire alt do i need to do anything special?? or just tape off the ends to the 2 polarity wires? do i need to unplug the Voltage req on the fire wall?( i was going to leave it there just for astatics )

Unless you want to spend big bucks for a mopar style one wire, the only alternative is a GM style, and then you will need a anti drain back diode.
Just out of curiosity, why do you want to do this?

Mark

Last edited:
i need to change alt on car, it is acting funny and i have a new 1 wire powerMaster 175091, single wire alt, than i need to either use or send back to summit. I had ordered it for my other car, but ended up not needing it. so was considering putting on on my satty.

thoughts ??

Well, good enough reason, not sure if a diode is required with a Powermaster or not.

Mark

You can leave the stock regulator in place. Like you mentioned, make sure to isolate (Heat shrink or tape) the field wires.
On the self-excited single output alternators I have used, no diode is needed.

should i unplug / wrap wires at V/R as well, or just at the alternator ?

If you're trying for the stock look, I would wrap each with tape, and then tape to the harness.

Mark

thanks,
thats what my thought was, but, i have never done this before, i do like the thought of a single wire.

thank you for your input !

Unless you want to spend big bucks for a mopar style one wire, the only alternative is a GM style, and then you will need a anti drain back diode.

Mark