• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Crate Motor Suggestion

Heath Walker

Local time
5:58 AM
Reaction score
Hello everyone this is my first time posting in this forum so here goes! Recently purchased a 1966 Plymouth Satelite with a 383 big block and I am looking for suggestions on a good crate motor to put in it. There is nothing wrong with the motor in it but I want a bit more hp than that one makes! Is there a particular brand or size you guys could recommend? I would like to make around 500hp give or take

A 66 383 was 325 HP from the factory. If I were looking to do something like that, I would stroke the engine I have, use better heads with port work and a cam to meet your expectations. Fortunately I think that can still be done more economically than just buying someone else's crate engine and not knowing a lot about what you actually have.

A 66 383 was 325 HP from the factory. If I were looking to do something like that, I would stroke the engine I have, use better heads with port work and a cam to meet your expectations. Fortunately I think that can still be done more economically than just buying someone else's crate engine and not knowing a lot about what you actually have.
It already has ported Aluminum heads and forged pistons

As far as I know, the only place that offers a big block mopar crate engine is CME,Carolina machine engines, and I'm not sure they still do. Do your due diligence, find out if they offer what you want, and check reputation . I have no personal experience with them.
Blueprint offers a 408 crate small block, but that would require a small block trans, and a bunch of other mods.

Just put a 150 shot of NOS on it. You already have forged pistons. And it'll be a whole lot cheaper.