• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Decision

Lloyd Braun

Local time
12:25 PM
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a new member and joined to get advice/guidance from those who know far more than I do. I've owned my 1968 Dodge Charger (383) since I was a sophomore in high school. I bought it in 1973. I drove it through college, then in 1981, I parked it in a barn on my in-law's farm while I went off on my career. It is still there today.

I'm retired now and thought I'd like to have my 68 Charger back to enjoy in the years ahead as a clean, reliable driver. I don't have the skills to do the work myself and would need a reputable restoration shop for the work. I'd like to have the drivetrain updated to a modern setup, perhaps with a crate engine.

I've been warned that this can easily become a cash sinkhole and that it would be much smarter to go out and purchase a 68 Charger that has already been restored. I do understand that line of thinking, however, it would not be "my" 68 Charger.

So, I'm looking for input from those who have been down this road before. Given your experiences, I'd welcome any insights/recommendations you may offer to help me with this decision. I've attached some photos of my car as it sits in the barn.

Thanks!

IMG_3617.JPG IMG_3582.JPG IMG_3586.JPG IMG_3585.JPG IMG_3601.JPG IMG_3595.JPG IMG_3583.JPG IMG_3599.JPG IMG_3591.JPG

Welcome to FBBO from VERmont! Nice starting platform you have there! There are many '68 Charger addicts here who can steer you in the right direction, hang on, they will be along shortly......also there are forum sections here where you can start a build thread and corral all of your pics and info in one easy to find place so we can more easily help you out..try the members projects or resto mod pro touring forums here..good luck! Ghost.