Distribution block

Electrical & Ignition

  1. Aron Gleason

    Aron Gleason Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2020
    Location:
    Washington
    Local Time:
    6:50 AM
    so I've got a distribution block I'm using for my hot wires for tach, fuel pump, roll control, afr gauge and voltage gauge. The other half of the distribution block will be for gauge lights. I will run 1 wire from the block to fuse box for each. Do I need to run a jumper wire from one set block to another to make my hot wires work independently from the lights and lights independently from the hot wires?
     
  2. Aron Gleason

    Aron Gleason Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2020
    Location:
    Washington
    Local Time:
    6:50 AM
    2512.png this is the block I got.
     
  3. 493 Mike

    493 Mike FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    3,227
    Likes Received:
    3545
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    White Cloud, MI
    Local Time:
    9:50 AM
    Can you rephrase your question?
    Mike
     
  4. Nacho-RT74

    Nacho-RT74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    1553
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, España
    Local Time:
    3:50 PM
    from the distance, what you got is a rule full of individual "junction points". You could make any setup with that, but if you want to "split it up" into two "buss bars" will need to make a cascade of jumper wires for each section from the source you want to make

    just like this:

    terminal-strip-wiring-jpg.jpg
     
  5. Nacho-RT74

    Nacho-RT74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    1553
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, España
    Local Time:
    3:50 PM
    there is another kind of distribution blocks where the attaching points are linked between them with the base plate where all the screws are attached... on this pic is being used to source neg and pos, but could be used for two diff positive sources, one each side. This would save the use of jumper wires cascade

    6834489260_29c3207acd_b.jpg
     
  6. Nacho-RT74

    Nacho-RT74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    1553
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, España
    Local Time:
    3:50 PM
    another kind you could use are 2 of these ( one for each source you want to split out ), where a major stud is used for the input signal ( whichever is ) and the screws to attach whatever you want to source. Everything on the same bar plate

    Bar shaped

    fbussbar12pos__33681.1310078617.1280.1280.jpg

    Round shaped

    Red_Power_Post_Connector_47226_f.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
  7. Nacho-RT74

    Nacho-RT74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    1553
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, España
    Local Time:
    3:50 PM
    sometimes the ammount of wires you need to get into the buss bar is not that huge, and use just a single juntion point for everthing could be quite enough:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Nacho-RT74

    Nacho-RT74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    1553
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, España
    Local Time:
    3:50 PM
    just found this distribution block with the jumper system ( same idea of the reply#5 )

    Bluesea-Systems-30A-terminal-block-2-way-automotive-marine[2].jpg

    and this, where each side will spread the signal you want to split out

    HTB1YxaCXIfrK1RjSszcq6xGGFXaf.jpg
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
    • Like Like x 2
    • Nacho-RT74

      Nacho-RT74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      4,579
      Likes Received:
      1553
      Joined:
      Oct 8, 2012
      Location:
      Valencia, España
      Local Time:
      3:50 PM
      there are also fused for each output

      mini-fuse-blocks-fuse-panels-with-power-distribution-ce-auto.jpg

      ATC_Fuse_Panel_with_Power_Distribution.jpg
       
      • Like Like x 2
      • 66Satellite47

        66Satellite47 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        Messages:
        4,704
        Likes Received:
        3646
        Joined:
        Jan 15, 2015
        Location:
        St Paul MN
        Local Time:
        7:50 AM
        I have used the types that Nacho showed in posts #4, 7, 9. Depends on mounting location and parts availability.
         
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • Aron Gleason

          Aron Gleason Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          265
          Likes Received:
          127
          Joined:
          Aug 5, 2020
          Location:
          Washington
          Local Time:
          6:50 AM
          Thank you guys. Do I need to run a inline fuse between the block and fuse box?
           
        • 493 Mike

          493 Mike FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          3,227
          Likes Received:
          3545
          Joined:
          Dec 25, 2011
          Location:
          White Cloud, MI
          Local Time:
          9:50 AM
        • Nacho-RT74

          Nacho-RT74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          4,579
          Likes Received:
          1553
          Joined:
          Oct 8, 2012
          Location:
          Valencia, España
          Local Time:
          3:50 PM
          I’d consider that of course, depending on the expected load on each block section

          althought dash ilumination got its own fuse already on fuse box. You could change the fuse with a couple of amps more if adding 3 or 4 extra gauges.
           
          Last edited: Sep 4, 2020
        • Nacho-RT74

          Nacho-RT74 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          4,579
          Likes Received:
          1553
          Joined:
          Oct 8, 2012
          Location:
          Valencia, España
          Local Time:
          3:50 PM
          Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
          • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
          • Aron Gleason

            Aron Gleason Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            265
            Likes Received:
            127
            Joined:
            Aug 5, 2020
            Location:
            Washington
            Local Time:
            6:50 AM
            The distribution block i have is from Blue Sea systems. Got it from Amazon.
             
          • Mike67

            Mike67 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

            Messages:
            6,459
            Likes Received:
            10358
            Joined:
            Nov 23, 2014
            Location:
            Woodlands Tx
            Local Time:
            8:50 AM
            I have 2 different types, the big one is for my large loads, amps & fuel pump, I think its rated 80 or 100amps, its mounted to my battery box with a circuit breaker protecting it.
            The smaller one is in my engine compartment for my fans & MSD box.
            They are all fused circuits.

            Screenshot_20200903-151136_Amazon Shopping.jpg 81JoopHLclL._AC_SL1500_.jpg
             
          • Shorthorse

            Shorthorse Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            996
            Likes Received:
            858
            Joined:
            Oct 6, 2012
            Location:
            Ohio
            Local Time:
            9:50 AM
            Even simple terminal blocks have max amp values so do your homework.
            I prefer screw terminal connections with star washers on terminal and fuse blocks. Push-on connectors tend to spread and loosen. If you must use push-on style, use the plated steel, "high temp" ones. Never the cheap aluminum ones most commonly found in parts stores.
             
            • Agree Agree x 1
            1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
              By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.