Do you have a Retrosound head unit?

1966 -1967 Mopars

  1. closer9

    closer9 Active Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    SWMO
    Local Time:
    9:54 AM
    When I got my car, the radio was gone and the opening was pretty mangled. I wasn't too concerned about having a radio, so just had my buddy weld it up when he painted the car. Fast forward many years... We now have kids and they love cruising in Belle and she's been getting a lot more use. I printed some underdash mounts for a bluetooth speaker and while it sounds good enough, it's just somewhat inconvenient to control, even when my wife is riding shotgun and doing the controlling.

    So, long story short... Thinking about adding a stereo with modern electronics. For those that have used the Retrosound units, did it require the original bezel from your original radio? I'll have to cut a new opening in the original location, and while 100% factory correct is not my goal, looking finished and tidy is.

    This is a 67 Belvedere II, BTW.

    Thanks...
     
  2. vance.dykes

    vance.dykes Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    493
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Location:
    florida
    Local Time:
    10:54 AM
    just put a hide away unit in and dont cut nothing .
     
  3. HD539

    HD539 FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    487
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Local Time:
    7:54 AM
    My retro stereo installs identical to the factory radio.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • RT6PK

      RT6PK Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      200
      Likes Received:
      459
      Joined:
      Aug 21, 2017
      Location:
      Poland, Ohio
      Local Time:
      10:54 AM
      I've got a Retrosound unit in my '67 and I love it. The unit did interfere with the factory A/C duct work. However the unit is modular. So, I mounted the actual head unit behind the dash, under the glove box liner. Only the controls and display are mounted in the factory location. Also, I was able to use the factory bezel and knobs. I have a sub-woofer under the seat, two 6x9's in the rear, and a dual cone in the dash in the factory speaker location. In addition, there are two USB leads. I am only using one, mounted in a bracket under my dash. The sound is awesome and other than the digital display, it looks factory.
      20200424_184646.jpg
       
      • Like Like x 2
      • BeepBeepRR

        BeepBeepRR FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

        Messages:
        4,505
        Likes Received:
        4892
        Joined:
        Oct 16, 2016
        Location:
        Atlanta,Ga
        Local Time:
        10:54 AM
        I installed one in the 1969 Roadrunner.. Works great and has all the functions of a newer stereo.

         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Demonic

          Demonic Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,199
          Likes Received:
          1030
          Joined:
          Jun 5, 2017
          Location:
          Maryland
          Local Time:
          10:54 AM
          I have a thumbwheel version in my Charger. It was a bit involved setting the depth and dial spacing - as the thumbwheel brackets bolt on in slotted channels. I was mildly annoyed, as B body thumbwheel radio footprint is standard. The brackets flex too much. Also a snug fit in my AC car.
           
        • CoronetDarter

          CoronetDarter Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,421
          Likes Received:
          1479
          Joined:
          Oct 13, 2013
          Location:
          Lincoln, CA
          Local Time:
          7:54 AM
          I have the thumb wheel version in the Coronet. it's a good radio although seems a little flimsy especially at the thumb wheel mounting brackets. I mainly use the bt feature synced with Amazon music on my phone.
           
        • RT6PK

          RT6PK Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          200
          Likes Received:
          459
          Joined:
          Aug 21, 2017
          Location:
          Poland, Ohio
          Local Time:
          10:54 AM
          Boy, I agree with your comment about getting the depth and dial spacing correct. That did take some time. The brackets did flex too. However since I mounted the head unit under the glove box liner separate from the controls and display, the flex issue went away once the weight of the head unit was taken off of the controls and display.
           
        • Demonic

          Demonic Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,199
          Likes Received:
          1030
          Joined:
          Jun 5, 2017
          Location:
          Maryland
          Local Time:
          10:54 AM
          I saw you had said that. Interesting. I assume you had to make custom cables? The little one for the display is very short.
           
        • RT6PK

          RT6PK Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          200
          Likes Received:
          459
          Joined:
          Aug 21, 2017
          Location:
          Poland, Ohio
          Local Time:
          10:54 AM
          I didnt have to make longer cables, Retrosound sells them.
           
        • Mike67

          Mike67 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          5,262
          Likes Received:
          8093
          Joined:
          Nov 23, 2014
          Location:
          Woodlands Tx
          Local Time:
          9:54 AM
          It took me most of the day installing mine...and I had the bezel completely out. It was a pita setting the depth and height. Like it was stated earlier the brackets are slotted and held in by tiny phillips screws, this allowed it to tilt, flex and just be an overall pain. However it is a nice radio, 4 rca pre amp outputs, usb and aux.
          I bought an extension that will allow me to plug directly in like a modern vehicle instead of reaching underneath the dash for the connector.
           
        • closer9

          closer9 Active Member

          Messages:
          34
          Likes Received:
          5
          Joined:
          Jul 18, 2008
          Location:
          SWMO
          Local Time:
          9:54 AM
          Thanks for all the replies, and info. However did anyone install one without an original bezel?

          I considered putting a modern stereo in the glove box, but them I'm back to the same thing, hard to control and no screen. Again, I'm fine without an original bezel if they provide something else.

          Also, what all can it display at any given time? Track, artist, station, time, etc?

          Thanks!
           
        • closer9

          closer9 Active Member

          Messages:
          34
          Likes Received:
          5
          Joined:
          Jul 18, 2008
          Location:
          SWMO
          Local Time:
          9:54 AM
          While moving some things around in the garage I found a cheap media player I bought when I thought we were going to sell the wife's Jeep, and I wanted to keep the Kenwood. It's a full DIN, but not very deep. I think I'll just set it in the glove box for now, and start working on some speakers. I think I've seen some options for dual coil or even dual speakers for the dash center. Would like to find or make some kick panel mounts as well. Once I have speakers in place and working I'll consider the Retrosound again. Still unsure whether or not I can mount it without the factory bezel and it look decent, since I would have to cut a new opening.
           
        • Mike67

          Mike67 Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          5,262
          Likes Received:
          8093
          Joined:
          Nov 23, 2014
          Location:
          Woodlands Tx
          Local Time:
          9:54 AM
          Look at the Custom AutoSound SRMS, it's a hide away unit with a hand held remote.
          I was bidding on one and missed out, I really liked it better but got a decent deal on my Retro
           
        • closer9

          closer9 Active Member

          Messages:
          34
          Likes Received:
          5
          Joined:
          Jul 18, 2008
          Location:
          SWMO
          Local Time:
          9:54 AM
          I will check it out. Thanks.
           
        • closer9

          closer9 Active Member

          Messages:
          34
          Likes Received:
          5
          Joined:
          Jul 18, 2008
          Location:
          SWMO
          Local Time:
          9:54 AM
          I looked up the SRMS. I think I'll just go with the cheap single din in the glove box for now, and in time do the Retrosound or something like it. Did some looking around at speakers. Thinking about getting the Retrosound R-410N for the dash location and Custom Autosound Undercover II speakers for under the front seats. Not looking to drown out the exhaust note (although I do need to consider tailpipes and maybe some quieter mufflers), just some nice tunes for cruising.
           
          • Like Like x 1
          • Mike67

            Mike67 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            5,262
            Likes Received:
            8093
            Joined:
            Nov 23, 2014
            Location:
            Woodlands Tx
            Local Time:
            9:54 AM
            Ya I like my tunes so I've invested quiet a bit into mine. I have 2 Kicker - 3.5" in the dash ( they make an adaptor plate to fit the 4x7), mounting 2-Kicker 6.5" in angled pods in the door, 2 Kicker 6x9a in the package tray and a 8" Memphis powered sub. I'm not wanting ghetto base but love hearing the heavy bass and guitar riffs in my rock!
             
          • closer9

            closer9 Active Member

            Messages:
            34
            Likes Received:
            5
            Joined:
            Jul 18, 2008
            Location:
            SWMO
            Local Time:
            9:54 AM
            It used to be all about the sound system for me, but old convertibles aren't the best platform and I love the sound of an old V8 without cats. Would like to see your setup though if you have pix online.
             
          • Mike67

            Mike67 Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            5,262
            Likes Received:
            8093
            Joined:
            Nov 23, 2014
            Location:
            Woodlands Tx
            Local Time:
            9:54 AM
            I'll get some this weekend, I have the dash speakers in, stereo and the sub, in, was working on the wiring. Holes are cut for 6x9s but I'm have to drill mounting holes to install.
             
          • Ron H

            Ron H FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

            Messages:
            2,674
            Likes Received:
            2514
            Joined:
            Feb 29, 2016
            Location:
            WI
            Local Time:
            9:54 AM
            If you could recreate the original opening for the radio that'd likely be what I'd want to do. I had to locate a shaft-mount radio and Hermosa retro had one I installed. It has a lot of features I wasn't looking for; but added a power antenna as the unit accommodated. Only issue was the bezel and I have a couple of them so re-fabbed it to fit over the face and made an aluminum backing plate.

            Radio Ply (2).jpg
             
          1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
            By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.