Does Anyone have opinion on this

Heating, Cooling & AC

  1. danf_fl

    danf_fl Well-Known Member

    My Photo Garage
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Location:
    NW Florida
    Local Time:
    12:39 PM
  2. LMSC33

    LMSC33 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Location:
    Princeton, WV
    Local Time:
    1:39 PM
    We installed a vintage air system in a 67 non mopar and used a factory ac dash, vents and controls. The system is much smaller than the factory ac box and is fully electronic.

    Worked like a dream The only issue is that the ac lines need to be cut to fit and crimped using a special tool. We went ahead and bought the tool because we will be using this system again
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • tmaleck

      tmaleck FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

      Messages:
      189
      Likes Received:
      229
      Joined:
      Apr 1, 2017
      Location:
      Austin, TX
      Local Time:
      12:39 PM
      I have used Vintage Air several times with good results. One thing I learned is to zip tie the hoses onto the vents and blend box. They will fall off over time if you don't.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Dipstick

        Dipstick Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        165
        Likes Received:
        160
        Joined:
        Oct 26, 2018
        Location:
        Out West
        Local Time:
        10:39 AM
        If that kit is a retrofit for non-A/C cars, it might not fit correctly in a car with factory A/C. Consult the maker.
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • PurpleBeeper

          PurpleBeeper FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          4,026
          Likes Received:
          2818
          Joined:
          Mar 20, 2011
          Location:
          Chicago
          Local Time:
          12:39 PM
          Let me start by saying I've never used one of those Classic Industries A/C units. OK, why do you think it will be an "upgrade" to a good-functioning, properly maintained, factory A/C unit?

          I mean, the factory has a compressor, 2 heat exchangers and some switches. The aftermarket one has a compressor, 2 heat exchangers and some switches. I would not "expect" the aftermarket one to be any colder than a factory one.
           
        • danf_fl

          danf_fl Well-Known Member

          My Photo Garage
          Messages:
          77
          Likes Received:
          52
          Joined:
          Aug 7, 2018
          Location:
          NW Florida
          Local Time:
          12:39 PM
          The current compressor works.
          I am missing the vacuum control in the engine area so I cannot control anything except the fan (on/off) and turn the compressor on.
          I am also missing hoses and the evaporator is questionable.
          I am also missing condenser.

          Getting such a unit from Classic Industries (or whoever), should get me the parts I need and use the current Freon.

          The kit is identified to work in a factory A/C car.
           
        • 747mopar

          747mopar FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

          Messages:
          10,828
          Likes Received:
          11767
          Joined:
          Oct 30, 2012
          Location:
          ohio
          Local Time:
          12:39 PM
          Maybe not so much in function but there's a lot of benefits to them like being fully electronically controlled, much smaller box = more room to work, smaller compressors again freeing up space while neatening up the engine compartment then the fact that replacement parts are more readily available as well. Mine puts out 32 degrees temps so performance is pretty darn good too. For me I really don't like the massive old pumps and messy engine compartment caused by the factory setup although they do work well.
           
          • Agree Agree x 1
          • PurpleBeeper

            PurpleBeeper FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

            Messages:
            4,026
            Likes Received:
            2818
            Joined:
            Mar 20, 2011
            Location:
            Chicago
            Local Time:
            12:39 PM
            Good points 747. Aren't the compressors "side mounted" too? If yes, wouldn't that allow you to run a six-pack/hemi oval air cleaner and/or an air grabber hood??? (I really don't know)
             
          • 747mopar

            747mopar FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

            Messages:
            10,828
            Likes Received:
            11767
            Joined:
            Oct 30, 2012
            Location:
            ohio
            Local Time:
            12:39 PM
            The compressors are mounted just about anywhere depending on who's brackets you use. I've seen them mounted on the top, left and right plus seen them mounted very low as well. Mine is mounted right in front of the passenger side head making the plumbing more of a straight shot.
             
          • rrTor-Red

            rrTor-Red FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

            Messages:
            1,707
            Likes Received:
            554
            Joined:
            Sep 1, 2010
            Location:
            USA
            Local Time:
            12:39 PM
            I'll add to your points as well. My car came with A/C but all of the parts under the hood was gone. That's the other reason why I went this route too
             
            • Like Like x 1
            • danf_fl

              danf_fl Well-Known Member

              My Photo Garage
              Messages:
              77
              Likes Received:
              52
              Joined:
              Aug 7, 2018
              Location:
              NW Florida
              Local Time:
              12:39 PM
              rrTor-Red,
              How pleased are you with the result? Did you use the same kit?
               
            • rrTor-Red

              rrTor-Red FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

              Messages:
              1,707
              Likes Received:
              554
              Joined:
              Sep 1, 2010
              Location:
              USA
              Local Time:
              12:39 PM

              No. I went to Bouchillon. He had everything needed. Ill post a picture when I get home
               
              • Like Like x 1
              • rrTor-Red

                rrTor-Red FBBO Gold Member FBBO Gold Member

                Messages:
                1,707
                Likes Received:
                554
                Joined:
                Sep 1, 2010
                Location:
                USA
                Local Time:
                12:39 PM
                Here is mine. It's not "factory" but the car came with A/C and it now has it. The one picture didn't have the lines connected but now it is.

                #5 Rod Top Front.jpg 20161228_190144.jpg
                 
                • Like Like x 1
                1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                  By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
                  Dismiss Notice