• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Edelbrock accelerator pump linkage

junkpile

Local time
10:06 PM
Reaction score
I was told you can bend the accelerator pump linkage rod to get a faster shot to get rid of a mild bog.

My question is, what way do you bend the rod and what is the results? I have never done this before but I am curious. I would like to improve a slight bog at WOT.

FYI running 750 on a 440 with 484/284 cam .043 squirters linkage in "rich" hole.

I just re built a couple of AFBs for my tunnel ram. Same animal. To get more volume of pump shot, the linkage rod needs to be closer to the Pivot Point near the accelerator pump plunger. This results in it moving further, which results in an increased displacement due to more plunger travel. Kind of like stroking a motor.

My linkage is in the hole closest to the carb body. someone suggested actually bending the link rod to the pump plunger. They did not say what way but I am assuming that if the rod is longer it will push the plunger further down increasing the duration of the shot slightly. This may help my issue, but not sure the direction to go of if there is a certain distance I need between the ends of the link rod in question.

Old school mechanics have good advise, but sometimes they don't relay it clearly, especially when talking in passing

May not hurt to experiment with it. If it starts higher, it will end up higher too. And vice versa.

Try to post a picture of the linkage on the carb, so we can get a better idea of what's going on. There may be some other issue going on here, like too lean in the secondaries or not enough timing advance