• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Electrician's out there? Home power generation.

Propwash

Local time
7:12 PM
Reaction score
A kinda off the wall question, but i'm not finding a lot of interactive on line help.

I've been researching home power generation (solar/wind) for a couple months now through means of books/video's/articles. Basically sick of paying to the man when well, the sun seems to keep on risings and the wind continues to blow.

So, if I made a wind turbine from a 12 volt DC generator such as an automotive alternator or even a 120V motor from lets say a treadmill, could I in theory, run those wires to a DC to AC inverter and plug that into a GFI outlet off a 30AMP breaker, thus feeding power back to my home/grid? I've read and watched that it works, but being a bit ignorant to home/120V AC circutry, i'm a bit hesitant.

Would it make more sense to run the wires from the generator to a controller then a few deep cycles, then to an inverter, then to a plug? Or better yet, wire into the breaker box with a disconnect somewhere.

Appreciate any help.

There is only one correct answer

You need to check first with your local power company.

And if you intend to do this, you need to hire a QUALIFIED (I do not just mean licensed) electrician, so by qualified I mean someone who has experience with such things as generator switch panels and so on

You MUST have some means of INSURING that your power generation system can NOT feed power into a dead line, IE if the commercial power goes down the generation system must disconnect from the line.